| 7.8°C Dublin

Shefflin returns as Tipperary axe Kelly


Henry Shefflin. Photo: Sportsfile

Henry Shefflin. Photo: Sportsfile

Henry Shefflin. Photo: Sportsfile

Henry Shefflin's extraordinary championship record is set to continue -- he returned to Kilkenny's starters last night for the first time since an eight-month-long shoulder injury lay-off.

His return to face Dublin tomorrow means Shefflin will have started every one of Kilkenny's 57 championship games since his debut in 1999.

Richie Power also returns to the starters after injury and, in Michael Fennelly's absence, U-21 star Cillian Buckley and Paddy Hogan man the midfield, while Richie Doyle is at wing-back.

Ryan O'Dwyer's return from suspension, to replace David Treacy, is the only change for Dublin.

Tipperary have dropped All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly for Sunday's Munster SHC semi-final clash with Cork.

As expected, Patrick Maher's form off the bench against Limerick has earned him a return to the team. Shane McGrath replaces James Woodlock in midfield, and Conor O'Brien comes in for Donagh Maher at corner-back.

Sean Og O hAilpin and John Gardiner are not on the Cork team as Jimmy Barry-Murphy continues to go with youth. Darren Sweetnam gets his championship debut despite only returning to training last Friday night after finishing his Leaving Cert.

Kanturk's Anthony Nash has beaten Martin Coleman in the battle for the goalkeeping spot.

Monaghan captain Darren Hughes returns to face Down after six weeks off with muscle calcification in his leg.

Tommy Freeman is still not in the starting line-up; Drew Wylie, Pete Dooney and Kieran Hughes replace Donal Morgan, Matthew McKenna and Christopher McGuinness.

Down have made one enforced change, with Gerard McCartan coming in for the suspended Aidan Brannigan.

Brian Geary and Niall Moran come in for the Limerick hurlers in place of Conor Allis and Kevin Downes for their qualifier against Laois, while Wexford are unchanged to face Westmeath.

Irish Independent