| 23.6°C Dublin

Sheedy keen to keep Railway Cup on track despite defeat


Liam Sheedy

Liam Sheedy

Liam Sheedy

After watching his defending champions exit the M Donnelly inter-provincial hurling championship yesterday, Munster manager Liam Sheedy said his squad are still honoured to play in the competition.

Sheedy did call for the competition to be moved to a more suitable time of the year, but claimed the players place huge value on their Railway Cup medals from last year.

"Every player I rang was delighted to play with Munster. They were delighted to get the call and were very anxious to come and play. I hope it survives because it is a medal that those boys treasure," said the former Tipperary manager.

For long periods it seemed as if Munster would outclass Anthony Cunningham's all-Galway Connacht side, but the Westerners hit an unanswered 1-7 at the start of the second half to take control.

After points from the excellent Jason Flynn, Davy Glennon hit the all-important goal for Connacht in the 39th minute following a driving run from Jonathan Glynn, and after Conor Cooney pointed a penalty, Anthony Nash trotted forward for a go from 20 metres.

His trademark technique was rolled out, but much to the delight of the home crowd his 56th-minute free flew over the bar and any hope for the defending champions disappeared.

Scorers – Connacht: C Cooney 0-11 (7fs, 0-1pen), J Flynn 0-3, D Glennon 1-0, P Brehony 0-2, C Mannion & R Cummins 0-1 each. Munster: P Horgan 0-6 (4fs), D Kearney, N McGrath, A Nash (2f) & C Ryan (1f) 0-2 each, P Maher & S Walsh 0-1 each.

Connacht (all Galway) – J Skehill; F Moore, R Burke, J Coen; D Collins, I Tannian, G McInerney; David Burke, P Brehony; J Flynn, C Cooney, J Glynn; P Landers, C Mannion, D Glennon. Subs: A Harte for McInerney (h-t), R Cummins for Landers (43), Daithi Burke for Tannian (54), K Hynes for Mannion (61), D Dolan for Glennon (65).

Munster – A Nash (Cork); T Condon (Limerick), R McCarthy (Limerick), N Connors (Waterford); B Bugler (Clare), M Walsh (Waterford), P Maher (Tipperary); W McNamara (Limerick), B Maher (Tipperary); D Kearney (Cork), N McGrath (Tipperary), S Molumphy (Waterford); G Mulcahy (Limerick), P Horgan (Cork), C Ryan (Clare). Subs: M Cahill (Tipperary) for McCarthy (h-t), S Walsh (Waterford) for Mulcahy (51), D O'Donovan (Clare) for Condon (53), P Donnellan (Clare) for Bugler (59), L McLoughlin (Cork) for Horgan (66).

Ref – P O'Dwyer (Carlow)

Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

Most Watched