Wednesday 13 December 2017

Scullion inspires Shamrocks to title

Antrim SHC Final: Loughgiel 3-14 Cushendall 2-6

Loughgiel Shamrocks claimed their fourth Antrim title in a row at a breezy Ballycastle, powering past Cushendall by 11 points.

Loughgiel Shamrocks claimed their fourth Antrim title in a row at a breezy Ballycastle, powering past Cushendall by 11 points.

It was their third meeting in four years in the Antrim decider and in the previous two occasions only a puck of the ball separated the sides.

After the superb Joey Scullion put the 2012 All-Ireland champions 0-2 to 0-1 ahead after seven minutes, they bossed proceedings for all but for a five-minute period. First-half goals from Benny McCarry and Shay Casey set the Shamrocks on their way to a 2-6 to 0-5 lead at the break. A Paddy McGill major added to a Conor Carson point left just a goal between the sides on 35 minutes, but Loughgiel went on to add 1-7 without reply.

Casey was first to score. Liam Watson flicked the ball to Scullion whose driving run allowed Casey the space to collect a neat pass and fire to the net.

McCarry netted four minutes from half-time, but within 38 seconds of the restart McGill picked out the bottom right-hand corner of the Shamrocks net with pinpoint accuracy. Carson cut the gap to a goal but two minutes later Watson picked out McCarry's run for the corner-forward to drive home. Shane McNaughton's free rattled the net on 59 minutes to secure the title.

Man of the Match: Joey Scullion (Loughgiel)

SCORERS – Loughgiel: B McCarry 2-1, L Watson 0-6 (5fs), J Scullion 0-4, S Casey 1-0, M McFadden, T McCloskey, B McAuley 0-1 each. Cushendall: P McGill, McNaughton (1f) 1-0 each, C Carson 0-3, K McKeegan 0-2 (2fs); R McCambridge 0-1.

Loughgiel – DD Quinn; P Gillen, N McGarry, R McCloskey; M Scullion, Johnny Campbell, O McFadden; M McFadden, T McCloskey; J Scullion, D Laverty, E McCloskey; B McCarry, S Casey, L Watson. Subs: B McAuley for T McCloskey, D McCloskey for McCarry, D McKinley for Casey, James Campbell for Scullion, T Coyle for R McCloskey.

Cushendall – R Kearney; M Burke, A Graffin, R McCambridge; P Burke, N McManus, D McNaughton; E Campbell, P McNaughton; P McGill, C Carson, K McKeegan; S McNaughton, E McKillop, E Laverty. Subs: A Delargy for Laverty, S Delargy for McCambridge.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport