| 10°C Dublin

Scoil Naithi outgun plucky St Joseph's in extravaganza

Croke Park hosted a hurling and camogie extravaganza yesterday with the annual Cumann na mBunscol finals taking place in front of a large and enthusiastic following.

The highlight of the day was the Corn Mhic Phiarias in which a wonderful individual display from Scoil Naithí's Tom Ó hEachthigheirn helped the Ballinteer school overcome a plucky St Joseph's Fairview challenge by 5-13 to 4-1.

The midfielder hit seven points and he was ably abetted by corner-forward Dylan de Buitléir, who scored three goals while Daire Ó Rónáin, Ruairí Ó Cinnéide and Ian Ó hEither were also on target in a vibrant attacking performance from the winners.

St Joseph's battled away gamely throughout but goals from Paddy Ryan, Cian O'Brien, Jack Dillon and Christian O'Brien proved in vain, with Scoil Naithí's centre-back Donnacha Ó Ciardha a calm presence at all times.

The corn Bn Uí Phuirséil proved a tighter affair with the cup eventually shared between St Pius X Terenure and St Brigid's from Blanchardstown as extra-time failed to separate the teams.


Eva Merrigan handed St Brigid's the perfect start with a glorious point in the second minute while Julie Donnelly's goal looked to have handed her side a cushion but St Pius X responded and forced extra-time through a brace of points by the inspirational Emma Ryan and Holly Finnegan's goal.

Finnegan's goal within three minutes of the restart maintained the Terenure school's momentum but the ebb and flow continued until the final minute with Mikaela Griffin's late goal ensuring the most equitable conclusion to a high-quality encounter.

The Corn Haughey was deservedly claimed by Scoil Lorcáin from Monkstown with captain Sinéad Ni Dhonnchú giving an inspirational display as her side won by 6-4 to 3-1 against a brave Scoil Áine outfit.

Ní Dhonnchú scored 3-3 of her side's tally and although Scoil Áine remained in contention through goals from Nicole Crowley and Carla Fitzsimons, Scoil Lorcáin pulled clear at the end with substitutes Layla Crosbie and Laoise Ní Shúilleabháin adding scores after their introduction.

The first final of the day provided a gripping contest between Loreto Crumlin and Divine Word Marley with Katie Whyte helping Loreto claim the Corn Nuri by 2-3 to 1-4. Whyte struck 1-3 and despite 1-4 from the excellent Sarah Meaher in reply, Crumlin held on by two points with Jennifey Dijon, Klea Golaj and Noma O Enehikhire epitomising the defensive tenacity of the winners.

Results in on page 49

Irish Independent