Sport Hurling

Saturday 16 December 2017

School for stars

St Kieran's College Kilkenny won the Croke Cup in 2000 with a team that reads more like an All Star awards ceremony than a schools side.

Michael Rice, Brian Hogan, Jackie Tyrrell and Tommy Walsh were all part of that team, along with Mullinahone's Eoin Kelly, who will captain Tipperary next Sunday.

St Kieran's beat St Flannan's in the final. Kelly scored seven points for a side that also featured Offaly's Brian Carroll.

The 2000 decider was a repeat of the 1999 final which went the way of the Clare school. That St Flannan's side featured Tony Griffin, Tony Carmody, Gerry Quinn as well as Tipp's Benny Dunne.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport