Monday 26 February 2018

Ryan turns to Browne as shock Mahony return provides boost

Pauric Mahony. Photo: Sportsfile
Pauric Mahony. Photo: Sportsfile
Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

WATERFORD sharpshooter Pauric Mahony has made a remarkably quick recovery from injury to return to their starters in time for Sunday's Munster hurling final.

The Ballygunner star was expected to be out for most of the summer after needing groin surgery at the end of the Allianz League, but has made a sensationally quick recovery and will start at wing-forward against Tipperary.

The 19-year-old's return comes at a cost to Eoin Kelly, who drops to the bench, and manager Michael Ryan has brought back legendary Mount Sion veteran Tony Browne (39) to beef up the Deise defence.

And Noel Connors starts his first game after a long injury lay-off, coming in at corner-back, with Aidan Kearney and Richie Foley the two who lose out defensively.

Mahony will resume the free-taking duties.

Limerick's hurlers have made just one change for tomorrow's qualifier clash with Clare, which means no starting places for Declan Hannon, Seamus Hickey and Kevin Downes.

Hannon and Hickey both recovered from injuries to make appearances off the bench against Antrim last time out, when Downes missed out with concussion.

The only change is Paudie O'Brien coming in to midfield.

Meanwhile, Cathal McCarron returns to the Tyrone half-back line for their qualifier clash with Roscommon. McCarron comes in for his Dromore clubmate Ryan McMenamin in the only change from the team that lost to Donegal last time out.

Conor Clarke holds onto the full-back spot even though Justin McMahon is fit again, and Tyrone's bench also includes Davy Harte for the first time this year -- he is back after ankle surgery.

Roscommon manager Des Newton has given a vote of confidence to the 15 starters who shocked Armagh last time out.

Michael Meehan makes his first championship start this summer and former U21 star Fiontan O'Curraoin returns from injury for Galway's Qualifier against Antrim but they still hold Padraig Joyce on the bench.

O'Curraoin comes into midfield for Greg Higgins, Tom Fahy replaces Kieran McGrath in a reshuffled defence and upfront Sean Armstrong moves to centre-forward and Tuam Stars' Conor Doherty comes in at half-forward, with Tomas Flynn and Damien Burke both dropping to the bench since the Sligo game.

Limerick football manager, Maurice Horan, welcomes back Stephen Lucey to his team to face Longford tomorrow.

WATERFORD (SH v Tipperary) -- S O'Keeffe; N Connors, L Lawlor, S Daniels; T Browne, M Walsh, K Moran; S Molumphy, Philip Mahony; Pauric Mahony, S Prendergast, M Shanahan; J Mullane, S Walsh, G O'Brien.

LIMERICK (SH v Clare) -- N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy,T Condon; W McNamara, D O'Grady, G O'Mahony; J Ryan, P O'Brien; S Dowling, B Geary, D Breen; G Mulcahy, N Moran, S Tobin.

ROSCOMMON (SF v Tyrone) -- G Claffey; S McDermott, N Carty, S Purcell; N Collins, P Domican, I Kilbride; C Shine, C Mannion; N Kilroy, C Cregg, N Daly; S Kilbride, C Compton, D Shine.

TYRONE -- P McConnell; A McCrory, C Clarke, D Carlin; C McCarron, C Gormley, Sean O'Neill; Joe McMahon, C Cavanagh; Mattie Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, P Harte; M Penrose, Stephen O'Neill, O Mulligan.

GALWAY (SF v Antrim) -- A Faherty; K Kelly, F Hanley, J Duane; G Bradshaw, G O'Connell, T Fahy; J Bergin, F O'Curraoin; G Sice, S Armstrong, C Doherty; M Meehan, P Conroy, M Hehir.

WEXFORD (SF v Tipperary) - A Masterson; R Tierney, G Molloy, B Malone; A Flynn, D Murphy, L Chin; D Waters, E Bradley; S Roche, P Byrne, B Brosnan; PJ Banville, C Lyng, R Barry.

Limerick (SF v Longford) -- B Scanlon; A Lane, J McCarthy, L O'Dwyer; J Riordan, S Lucey, P Ranahan; J Donovan, S Buckley; E O'Connor, S Kelly, P Brown; G Collins, S O'Carroll, I Ryan.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport