| 19.1°C Dublin

Ryan hits 11 points in final cruise for DLS

SHANE Ryan bagged 11 points as De La Salle were crowned champions for a third time in their history at Fraher Field, Dungarvan.

Ryan was in outstanding form as DLS crushed first-time finalists Gaelcholaiste Mhuire to win the trophy for the first time since 2008.

Ryan had notched eight points by half-time, four from play, as DLS led by 2-9 to 0-6.

DLS led by 11 points at one stage in the first half and could afford to miss a penalty in the second half.

Wing-back Craig Brown, scorer of a first-half goal, saw his penalty brilliantly saved by Darragh O'Connell, who was initially penalised for barging into Ryan after collecting a high ball.

After Daniel Gunning had opened the scoring for Gaelcholaiste Mhuire with a point in the first minute, DLS took over with a run of 1-3 without reply.

The goal was well taken by Dessie Hutchinson, when the unmarked full-forward collected a handpass from Sean Treacy before drilling his shot past O'Connell.

De La Salle's fortuitous second goal arrived midway through the first half when Brown's free from halfway went into the net.

Scorers – De La Salle: S Ryan 0-11(7f), D Hutchinson 1-1, C Brown 1-0f, P Hogan 0-2, K Crowley 0-1. Gaelcholaiste Mhuire: D Gunning (3f), D Lee (1f) 0-4 each, E Gunning (f), D Tuohy 0-1 each.

DE LA SALLE – E Purcell; N Blanchfield, E Hayden, S Barlow; C Brown, J McCarthy, K Dillon-Murphy; G Flynn, M Shanahan; P Hogan, S Treacy, M Roche; M Mullally, D Hutchinson, S Ryan. Subs: P Walsh for Roche (36), S Walsh for Barlow (47), K Crowley for Mullally (54), I Long for Hayden (56), B Cunningham for Treacy (58).

GAELCHOLÁISTE MHUIRE – D O'Connell; B O'Callaghan, E Gunning, R O'Meara; E O'Keeffe, C O'Sullivan, A O'Donovan; C Hanafin, E O'Laoire; C Connolly, P White, L Coughlan; D Gunning, D Braham, D Lee. Subs: D Tuohy for Braham (28), C O'Callaghan for White (42), E Sheehan for D Gunning (48).

Ref – W Barrett (Tipperary).

Irish Independent