| 6.8°C Dublin

Riordan strike vital

LIMERICK'S Fitzgibbon dominance was reflected in the second-tier decider on Saturday as eight Shannonsiders helped IT Tralee overcome Carlow IT in an entertaining clash.

Eoin Ryan and Nickie Quaid starred at midfield for ITT as they defeated last year's winners, while in attack wing-forward James Riordan hit 1-3 for the newly crowned champions.

Aided by a stiff first-half breeze, ITT stormed 0-9 to 0-0 clear with less than 17 minutes on the watch before Carlow IT, boosted by sub Martin Hawley's 25th-minute goal, hit back to trail by 1-4 to 0-11 at half-time.

Carlow IT recovered to draw level twice during the second half but Riordan found the net in the 45th minute and four more unanswered points pushed IT Tralee into a match-winning advantage.

Scorers -- IT Tralee: J Riordan 1-3, E Ryan 0-5 (4f, 1 '65'), M Kiely 0-3, N Quaid, T Downes 0-2 each, M Deegan, F Kennedy 0-1 each. Carlow IT: M Hawley 1-2, M Egan 0-5 (5f), C Kenny 0-3, C English 0-2, B Harding, O Walsh, R Doyle (f) 0-1 each.

IT TRALEE -- G Murphy; M Rea, O Gately, P Moriarty; M Cleary, M Deegan , K Maher; E Ryan, N Quaid; T Downes, E O'Brien, J Riordan; M Kiely, B Maxwell, F Kennedy. Subs: C Good for Kennedy (23), E Brosnan for Maxwell (h-t), J Leahy for Maher (37), B Murphy for Good (58).

CARLOW IT -- PJ Ryan; J Phelan, D Shaw, J Culhane; B Harding, D Kenny, R Doyle; O Walsh, P Walsh; E Fitzpatrick, P Halley, M Egan; C English, C Kenny, N Foyle. Subs: M Hawley for Halley (16), J Carroll for Shaw (42), P Buggy for Fitzpatrick (42), J Byrne for Phelan (54).

Ref -- A Kelly (Galway)

Irish Independent