| 11.5°C Dublin

Reid is the hero for WIT

Eoin Reid's 88th-minute extra-time goal settled a memorable Fitzgibbon Cup final in Waterford IT's favour in a game that looked destined to be decided by penalties.

Reid, who bagged 1-5 from play, struck with two minutes remaining to hand WIT an eighth success in this competition as Limerick IT relinquished their crown after two periods of extra-time.

A massive 1-16 haul from Joe Canning was not enough for LIT in a game which was level on 10 occasions.

The Ballyhale Shamrocks clubman, Reid, had twice dragged 2006 winners WIT level when it appeared that LIT were set for a third title in four years.

Three minutes into stoppage time, Reid's point tied the scores at 1-16 to 0-19 apiece before the same player was on hand to level the match at 1-22 to 0-25 with two extra minutes played in the first session of extra-time.

Canning had been in devastating form for LIT and his 43rd-minute free initially looked to be the key score.

WIT fought back from three points down to send the game into extra-time and Reid's first equaliser followed a superb sideline ball from Canning, which appeared to have clinched the trophy for LIT before Reid stole the show.

Scorers -- WIT: R McLoughney 0-12 (10f, 1 65), E Reid 1-5, TJ Reid (1 sl) & K Moran 0-3 each, S O'Sullivan & F O'Leary 0-2 each, K Grehan & G Nolan 0-1 each.

LIT: J Canning 1-16 (1-9f, 4 sl, 1 65), W Hyland 0-3, J McInerney 0-2, N Healy, C Donnellan & W McNamara 0-1 each.

WIT: A Power; K Lanigan, J Dalton, C Cooney (Clare); S Fives, P Hartley, K Moran; S Lillis, P Kelly; F O'Leary, TJ Reid, R Good; R McLoughney, E Reid, S O'Sullivan. Subs: M Gorman for Good (50), S Kelly for Fives (51), G Nolan for S Kelly (75), K Grehan for Gorman (87)

LIT: M Ryan; M Walsh, A Byrne, E Collins; G O'Connell, S Maher, M O'Brien; J Clancy, W McNamara; W Hyland, C Donnellan, J McInerney; P O'Brien, J Canning, N Healy. Subs: B Earlie for P O'Brien, A Murphy for Clancy (59), J Clancy for Healy (73), N Healy for McInerney (79).

Referee: D Kirwan (Cork).

Antrim caught

Two injury-time points from Niall McNamee snatched Offaly a draw in NFL Div 4.

Offaly will be pleased, as they played most of the second half with 14 men after Ciaran McManus was sent off on a second yellow.

A John Reynolds goal separated the teams (1-6 to 0-6) at the break.

After McManus' dismissal Antrim fired over three points to level and when CJ McGourty hit two points they looked set for victory before those late strikes by McNamee.

Scorers -- Antrim: P Cunningham 0-7 (5f), M McCann 0-2 (1f), M Magill, CJ McGourty 0-2 each. Offaly: N McNamee 0-5 (4f), J Reynolds 1-1, P Kellaghan 0-3, T Deehan 0-1.

Antrim: S McGreevy; T Scullion, A McLean, K O'Boyle; J Loughrey, S Kelly, J Crozier; J Quinn, M McCann; A Gallagher, K Niblock, T O'Neill; P Cunningham, M Magill, M Dougan. Subs: T Convery for McLean (inj, 10), CJ McGourty for Dougan (42), T McCann for Kelly (46).

Offaly: P Kelly; J Rafferty, S Brady, B Darby; P McConway, R Fox, N Greenan; A McNamee, C McManus; G Comerford, P Kellaghan, N Smith; T Deehan, J Reynolds, N McNamee. Subs: J Keane for Fox (42), D Egan for Deegan (43), K Casey for Comerford (48), J O'Hanlon for Egan (64).

Referee: M Higgins (Fermanagh).