Thursday 23 November 2017

Quaid goal guides Treaty into decider

Limerick 2-12 Waterford 2-9

Limerick's keener cutting edge was decisive at Semple Stadium as they booked their place in the final.

They had an array of forwards capable of slicing and dicing the Waterford defence, whereas the Deise were heavily reliant on the free-taking of Stephen Power to keep them in the game.

The men in white and blue did start the match impressively enough, leading by four points to two after 15 minutes, but once Limerick centre-forward Sean Madden hit the net with a well-struck ground-stroke the balance of power shifted the way of the Shannonsiders.

Their inside forward line of Donie Reale, Denis O'Connor and Tommy Quaid were a lively triumvirate, and with a steady supply of possession, they kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Five unanswered points before half-time put Limerick 1-7 to 0-6 ahead, but Waterford threatened a revival after the break when Power rattled a penalty to the net after full-forward Tommy Connors was hauled down on his way to goal.

Limerick didn't panic though, and points from Sean O'Brien (two), Quaid and Madden put them 1-12 to 1-7 ahead with 12 minutes left to play.

Quaid then nailed Waterford's coffin shut when he somehow scuffed the ball to the back of the net after a goalmouth scramble to ease Limerick seven points clear.

Waterford did mount a late charge when wing-forward Paudie Nevin's shot from 30 yards was deflected past Limerick goalkeeper Barry Hennessy and then Power reduced the deficit to three points with another free, but the final whistle called time on the belated comeback.

Scorers -- Limerick: T Quaid 1-2, D O'Connor 0-4 (2f), S Madden 1-1, S O'Brien, D Reale 0-2 each, C Allis 0-1 ('65'). Waterford: S Power 1-7 (pen, 7f), P Nevin 1-0, I Twomey 0-2.

Limerick -- B Hennessy; J Dillon, B Kelliher, D Moloney; N Maher, P Begley, T O'Callaghan; J Hayes, D Hanley; S O'Brien, S Madden, C Allis; D Reale, D O'Connor, T Quaid. Subs: M Ryan for O'Connor (47), D Ahearne for Quaid (57).

Waterford -- S O'Keefe; B Coughlan, I Flynn, M O'Brien; B Phelan, C Ryan, S Hannon; E Barrett, I Twomey; P Nevin, S Power, P Power; A Brophy, T Connors, C O'Gorman. Subs: K Cashell for O'Gorman (35), R Power for Brophy (44), H Barnes for Twomey (50).

Ref -- J O'Connell (Cork).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport