Tuesday 20 March 2018

Proposed hurling changes to be voted on at Congress

Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Proposals to tweak the structures for the hurling championships will go forward to Congress in March.

At Saturday's Central Council meeting, the proposals devised by the Central Competition Controls Committee were accepted and are now likely to come into force in 2014.

Over the course of three years the number of teams participating in the Liam MacCarthy Cup will drop from 15 to 13.

The Munster championship will be retained in its present format but the Leinster championship will comprise seven teams with Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin, Offaly and Wexford being joined by two from Laois, Antrim, Westmeath, Carlow and London.

Those four will enter a round-robin competition prior to the mainstream championship itself to decide the placings.

The presence of Kilkenny, Galway, Offaly, Dublin and Wexford would be guaranteed until 2016.


The Leinster championship has grown through the addition of the Christy Ring Cup winners who automatically have the choice to step up to MacCarthy Cup level.

Under the proposals passed, they would have to win their way up in a play-off with the second-last team in the round-robin group.

A counter proposal from the Hurling Development Work Group that would see both Munster and Leinster championships played off on a round-robin basis got little support.

Meanwhile, there was no change to the December decision to reduce the numbers permitted on the sidelines of inter-county games from 12 to five.

Up to seven delegates spoke on the issue but their views did not translate into a vote and the policy will come into force for the leagues from next weekend. Teams will be allowed to have just a manager and selector/maor foirne, one medic and two water/hurley carriers.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport