Monday 18 December 2017

O'Sullivan on target to seal Kerry treble for Ballyduff

Ballyduff 1-15 Lixnaw 1-9

Ballyduff completed another three-in-a-row as they captured their 24th county title after seeing off a spirited Lixnaw side in Tralee.

Ballyduff always held the upper hand thanks to their watertight defence -- led by imperious full-back Liam Boyle -- while Paud Costello won enough ball at midfield to keep the winners' attack well supplied, despite stubborn resistance from the Corridan brothers, Pat and Maurice, and Trevor McKenna.

The first half proved to be a battle of the free-takers, with Bobby O'Sullivan converting three as well as scoring a point from play, while his free, floated in from near the sideline, appeared to go all the way to Lixnaw's net in the 22nd minute, but Ballyduff captain Aidan Boyle claimed that he got a touch.

Ricky Heffernan got all of Lixnaw's first-half total from frees, as Ballyduff led 1-5 to 0-5 at the interval. Indeed, Lixnaw's only point from play during the hour was scored by James Flaherty in the 34th minute, but the champions didn't put Lixnaw away and the gap was just two points (1-7 to 0-8) by the end of the third quarter.

The introduction of Thomas O'Rourke saw Ballyduff up their performance and points from O'Sullivan (4), O'Rourke (2) and one each from Mikey and Padraig Boyle got them home.

Mike Conway's late goal for Lixnaw was a mere consolation.

Kerry football star Paul Galvin was listed as No 33 for the losers but he was not present.

Scorers -- Ballyduff: B O'Sullivan 0-8 (5f, 1 '65'), A Boyle 1-1, M Boyle 0-3, T O'Rourke 0-2, P Boyle 0-1. Lixnaw: R Heffernan 0-8f, M Conway 1-0, J Flaherty 0-1

Ballyduff -- PJ O'Gorman; D O'Grady, L Boyle, J Bowler; A O'Connor, P O'Grady, D Goulding; M O'Connor, P Costello; M Boyle, G O'Brien, B O'Grady; P Boyle, A Boyle, B O'Sullivan. Subs: T O'Rourke for M O'Connor (36), PJ Connelly for G O'Brien (43).

Lixnaw -- M Stackpoole; D McCarthy, P Corridan, M Corridan; R Galvin, T McKenna, C Fitzmaurice; J Griffin, F Fitzmaurice; R Heffernan, E Galvin, C O'Brien; C Fitzmaurice, S Power, J Flaherty. Subs: M Conway for E Galvin (36), G Hogan for S Power (54).

Ref -- S Hourigan (Limerick)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport