Tuesday 16 January 2018

O'Shea delight as Corbett and Cummins stay another year

Lar Corbett. Picture: Sportsfile
Lar Corbett. Picture: Sportsfile

Jackie Cahill

NEW Tipperary hurling manager Eamon O'Shea has confirmed the return of his star players for the 2013 campaign.

O'Shea has announced an official 26-man squad for the new year – with the four survivors from Tipp's 2001 All-Ireland winning panel all back on board.

Lar Corbett, the 2010 Hurler of the Year has committed for another season, along with six-time All Star forward Eoin Kelly, 37-year-old goalkeeper Brendan Cummins (37) – who holds the all-time championship appearance record – and John O'Brien.

Corbett may not return until April if Thurles Sarsfields reach the All-Ireland club final.

The squad includes two newcomers – John Meagher of Loughmore-Castleiney and Killenaule's John O'Dwyer – who will be given the chance to impress during the league.

An extended panel of nine players has also been announced, featuring Clonoulty-Rossmore pair John O'Neill and John O'Keeffe, who were members of the full squad last season.

Former Tipp minor captain Jason Forde is also on the extended list, along with O'Shea's Kilruane MacDonagh's clubmate Seamus Hennessy, a 2010 All-Ireland medallist who has been out with injury, and 2012 minor medallist Thomas Hamill.

O'Shea said: "You're all the time hoping that you've got the best players available to you and certainly, with all of those (experienced) players available to us, it's good. I'm very happy that all of those players are there."

O'Shea said he was "looking forward" to working with Corbett again.

Tipperary (sh panel for 2013) – B Cummins, D Gleeson, D Maher, P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill, J Meagher, T Stapleton, C O'Brien, C O'Mahony, Pádraic Maher, B Maher, J Woodlock, G Ryan, S McGrath, J Ryan, Patrick Maher, N McGrath, L Corbett, P Bourke, J O'Dwyer, E Kelly, S Callanan, S Bourke, J O'Brien, B O'Meara.

Extended panel: S Curran, J Forde, T Hamill, T Hammersley, M Heffernan, S Hennessy, J O'Keeffe, J O'Neill, A Ryan.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport