| 7.9°C Dublin

O'Grady opens Treaty doors to fresh triallists

New Limerick hurling boss Donal O'Grady wasted little time after his appointment by inviting around 80 hurlers to trials which will be held in the coming weeks.

The new management team has also asked members of the 2009 and 2010 panels to make their availability known, as many of the county's players sat out last season in protest at Justin McCarthy's management.

Meanwhile, Roscommon will be allowed into the All-Ireland qualifiers next year if they lose to New York in the first round after the GAA moved to change the rules over the participation of the Exiles.

Joe Kernan's Galway almost came a cropper in New York earlier this summer. They would have been out of the championship had they lost, as the fixture does not have any provision for back-door entry by the losers.

London have participated in the qualifiers, but New York's absence from the back-door system is being addressed and John Prenty, the Connacht provincial secretary, confirmed that a rule change is being implemented.

"It is due to go before the next meeting of the Central Council and it will mean that if Roscommon or any of the other Connacht counties lose to New York, then they will enter the qualifiers," he said.

Elsewhere, All-Ireland Ladies champions Dublin have received nine All Star nominations after lifting the Brendan Martin Cup for the first time last month.

The Jackies nominated are: 'keeper Cliodhna O'Connor, full-back Rachel Ruddy, half-backs Siobhan McGrath and Gemma Fay, midfielder Denise Masterson, half-forwards Mary Nevin and Amy McGuinness, and full-forwards Sinead Aherne and Elaine Kelly.

Beaten finalists Tyrone secured eight nominations: Sharon Lynch, Maura Kelly, Sinead McLaughlin, Neamh Woods, Shannon Quinn, Gemma Begley, Cathy Donnelly and Jolene Donnelly.

Irish Independent