Saturday 18 November 2017

O'Dwyer stars in rout

Tipperary 2-32
Antrim 1-7

Ciln Duffy

Tipperary registered 15 wides but it mattered little as they were firm masters over Antrim in the first of yesterday's Bord Gais Energy All-Ireland under 21 Hurling semi-finals at O'Connor Park, Tullamore.

Corner-forward John O'Dwyer was the star of the show, bagging a goal in either half as Tipperary easily advanced to the September 11 decider, at one point going 1-11 to 0-0 clear before Thomas McCann eventually mustered Antrim's first score in the 26th minute.

However, the Saffrons were unable to register another score before the break as Brian O'Meara, Patrick and Brendan Maher and O'Dwyer claimed points to help Tipp surge into a 1-18 to 0-1 interval lead.

Tipperary were hungry for goals and although Cormac Donnelly denied John O'Neill, and Antrim 'keeper Eoin Gillan blocked John O'Dwyer's rebound, the latter pushed the Premier County into a 2-25 to 0-4 lead with a superb 48th-minute ground strike.

Antrim quickly made amends, with Michael Armstrong doubling on a speculative PJ O'Connell shot 30 seconds later.

But this was merely a damage limitation exercise for Antrim, despite defender James Campbell and Armstrong (0-2) adding points late on as Tipp cruised to a 28-point win.

Scorers -- Tipperary: J O'Dwyer 2-3; N McGrath (2f, 2 '65), M Heffernan 0-6 each; S Carey 0-4; B O'Meara, K Morris 0-3 each; Padraic Maher, B Maher, S Hennessy (1f), Patrick Maher, P Murphy, J O'Neill, A Ryan 0-1 each. Antrim: M Armstrong 1-2; T McCann 0-2; J Campbell, C Carson, D Hamill 0-1 each.

Tipperary: J Logue; K O'Gorman, J Coghlan, M Cahill; J Barry, Padraig Maher, B Maher; S Hennessy, N McGrath; S Carey, P Murphy, Patrick Maher; M Heffernan, B O'Meara, J O'Dwyer. Subs: A Ryan for N McGrath (h-t); K Morris for Patrick Maher (h-t); C Hough for B Maher (39); J O'Neill for Hennessy (41); A Ryan for Carey (49); C Coughlan for O'Gorman (50).

Antrim: E Gillan; K Molloy, C Donnelly, S Shannon; L McAuley, M Donnelly, J Campbell; PJ O'Connell, E Laverty; M Devlin, T McCann, C Rocks; M Armstrong, C Carson, D Hamill. Subs: G Laverty for McCann (12-13); M Burke for McAuley (39); G Laverty for Rocks (49); N Cunningham for C Donnelly (52); M Lynch for O'Connell (59).

Referee: T Carroll (Offaly).

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport