Tuesday 23 January 2018

Murphy leads from the front to secure title for Rangers

Mount Leinster Rangers 2-12 Naomh Eoin (Myshall) 3-5

Carlow SHC final (replay)

TROUBLE erupted before referee Paud O'Dwyer threw the ball in to start this game at Dr Cullen Park yesterday when most of the players became involved in a fracas. There was even a brief flare-up in the stand before peace was restored.

O'Dwyer took no action and while it was a hard-hitting encounter, there was no further trouble once the hurling started.

Naomh Eoin struck for a sixth-minute goal from Brian 'Red' Murphy, only for Rangers to reply with a green flag from man of the match Denis Murphy on 10 minutes.

The interval saw the sides go in level at 1-3 apiece, although the Myshall side had struck eight wides while playing with the wind.

Rangers recorded the first three points of the second half from John Coady and two pointed frees from Denis Murphy. John Michael Nolan responded with a Naomh Eoin point.

In the 42nd minute a long outfield Rangers free was tapped to the net by full-forward Willie Hickey. However, Naomh Eoin were by no means finished and when Brian Murphy's 25-metre free was blocked, substitute Robbie Foley reacted first to make it 2-8 to 2-5.

But the final quarter belonged to Rangers. They tagged on four unanswered points before an injury-time goal from a Brian Murphy free cut the arrears to four points. However, by that stage Rangers already had their fourth title in the bag.

Scorers -- Mt Leinster Rangers: D Murphy 1-3 (0-2f), J Coady 0-4, W Hickey 1-0, E Byrne, P Nolan, P Coady (f), HP O'Byrne, G Doyle 0-1 each. Naomh Eoin: B Murphy 2-1 (1-1f), R Foley 1-0, J M Nolan 0-2, M Clowry, D Roberts 0-1 each.

Mt Leinster Rangers -- F Foley; G Kelly, B Nolan, K Lawlor; R Coady, J Hickey, E Coady; P Nolan, D Byrne; E Byrne, J Coady, D Phelan; P Coady, W Hickey, D Murphy. Subs: HP O'Byrne for W Hickey (46); G Doyle for Murphy (blood sub) (56); R Grennan for J Coady (59); R Kelly for J Hickey (59).

Naomh Eoin -- N Roberts; T Nolan, S Kavanagh, M Murphy; T Minchin, E Nolan, D Kavanagh; D Roberts, M Mullins; J Waters, M Clowry, D J O'Regan; J M Nolan, B Murphy, A Kenny. Subs: R Foley for Waters (34); S Smithers for O'Regan (47); C McCabe for Kenny (47); J O'Hara for M Murphy (48); R Smithers for Minchin (56).

Ref -- P O'Dwyer (Palatine)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport