| 16.2°C Dublin

Mulcahy braced for 'step up' after GMIT stroll


John O'Dwyer scored a goal in each half for Cork IT

John O'Dwyer scored a goal in each half for Cork IT

Brendan Moran/SPORTSFILE

John O'Dwyer scored a goal in each half for Cork IT

CORK IT made short work of GMIT as a goal in each half from Tipperary's John O'Dwyer clinched top spot in Group C for the 2012 runners-up.

Cork IT manager Pat Mulcahy was thrilled to bag home advantage in the last eight, but expects a step up in class when they take to the knockout stages.

"It was tough enough conditions, that's typical Fitzgibbon hurling. But we came out with the win and we're happy with that," he said.

"It was the quarters that we slipped up in last year against UCC, but we have a home quarter-final this year which is important. That was our target at the start of the year, but it's a big step up for the next day."

Before the game a minute's silence was observed for the late referee Shane Hourigan, who was scheduled to take charge of yesterday's encounter at Carnmore.

CIT – playing into the teeth of a very strong wind – took control with three early points, and once O'Dwyer and Michael O'Sullivan goaled in the 19th and 20th minutes to leave it 2-5 to 1-3 at the break, there was little doubt who would emerge victorious. O'Dwyer struck again in the second half to pile the misery on GMIT.

SCORERS – Cork IT: J O'Dwyer 2-5 (5fs), M O'Sullivan 1-2, J Coughlan 0-3, E Keane, C Hammersley, D Dooley, B Cooper, D Drake 0-1 each. GMIT: S Moloney 1-1 (1-0f), G Hennelly 0-2 (2fs), K Lane (1'65), C O'Donnell, P Flanagan 0-1 each

CORK IT –S Nyhan; S Murphy, A Dennehy, T Lawrence; E Keane, M Ellis, P Butler; M Russell, M O'Sullivan; C Hammersley, J Cronin, J O'Dwyer; J Coughlan, D Dooley, D Drake. Subs: B Cooper for Drake (36), W Murphy for Russell (52), M O'Brien for Dooley (53).

GMIT – J Egan; B Hunt, T Kenny, G Grealish; P Fox, K Lane, P Hoban; D McGreal, G Brennan; P Flanagan, J Kilkenny, T Spellman; C O'Donnell, S Moloney, G Hennelly. Subs: N Keary for Spellman (19), S Collins for Grealish (58), A Lardner for McGreal (58).

REFEREE – B Gavin (Offaly).

Irish Independent