Sport Hurling

Tuesday 20 March 2018

Morrissey's last-gasp goal ensures Limerick live to fight another day for minor crown

Limerick 2-19 Waterford 2-19

Limerick and Waterford minors will meet again after the two sides played out an enthralling contest at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick and Waterford minors will meet again after the two sides played out an enthralling contest at the Gaelic Grounds.

The teams had only previously met once at this stage of the competition way back in 1958 but it was well worth the wait.

A last-minute goal from substitute Tom Morrissey ensured that, in front of a large home support, Limerick would get a second shot at Munster minor glory.

Waterford, who were the stronger side throughout, led by three points at half-time.

A couple of long-range scores from both Austin Gleeson and Colm Roche gave the Deise the upper hand, but Limerick remained in touch thanks to Ronan Lynch's accuracy from the dead ball.

Waterford got off to a flying second-half start when almost straight from the throw-in, they had the ball in the back of the net through Stephen Bennett.

But Lynch continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over as he knocked over three frees without reply.

As the game entered the final 10 minutes, Waterford looked to have put the game beyond Limerick when Micheal Harney capitalised on an error from goalkeeper Colin Ryan to score his side's second goal.

But Limerick never gave up and were handed a lifeline when Lynch rifled a 21-yard free into the back of the net with five minutes remaining.

Bennett and Pat Ryan exchanged points before a long ball found Morrissey and he beat his man before sending an unstoppable shot passed Gavin Power to set up a replay.

Scorers – Limerick: R Lynch 1-9 (1-9fs), T Morrissey 1-1, C Lynch 0-4, B Nash 0-3, P Ryan 0-2. Waterford: S Bennett 1-2, M Harney 1-1, P Curran 0-5 (1f), A Gleeson (2fs), C Roche 0-3 each, C Gleeson 0-2, A Farrell, DJ Foran, M Kearney 0-1 each.

Limerick – C Ryan; J Porter, R English, S Finn; S Ryan, A La Touche Cosgrave, S Flanagan; J Butler, R Lynch; B Nash, D O'Donovan, C Lynch; D Coleman, D Dempsey, P Ryan. Subs: G Whelan for O'Donovan (37), S Power for Flanagan (43), T Morrissey for Coleman (49) M Casey for Porter (51).

Waterford – G Power; W Hahessy, K Daly, C Leamy; T Devine, A Gleeson, Shane Bennett; M Kearney, M Harney; A Farrell, C Roche, DJ Foran; P Curran, Stephen Bennett, C Gleeson. Subs: C Curran for Farrell (51), M O'Brien for Gleeson (54) P O'Connor for Harney (56).

Ref – F Horgan (Tipperary)

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport