Sport Hurling

Monday 19 March 2018

Mone helps make history for Keady

Keady (Armagh) 1-15
Lavey (cavan) 2-10 Ulster shc semi-finals

Keady upset the odds at O'Neill Park yesterday when they recorded a win over favourites Lavey to qualify for their first ever final.

They had corner-back Philip Kirk red-carded in the last minute of a poor first half. But Lavey were also down to 14 men after Kevin O'Neill was sent off and, after Cathal Mone kicked the sliothar to the net eight minutes from time, Keady managed to hold on for the win.

Scorers -- Keady: C Mone 1-2, P Breen 0-5, P McCormack 0-3, G Enright, B Breen 0-2 each, B McNaughton 0-1. Lavey: P Henry 1-6, K O'Neill 1-1, C O'Boyle 0-3.

Keady -- J Burke; P Kirk, E McDonnell, M McDermott; F McMullen, B McCormack, R Comiskey; G Enright, B Breen; B McNaughton, C Mone, J Corvan; L McKee, P Breen, P McCormack. Subs: R Digby for Corvan, C McShane for McKee, J Corvan for McNaughton, J Breen for Mone

Lavey -- P McGill; S Lagan, P McVeigh, P Dillon; D O'Neill, S Henry, J Darragh; P Doherty, M Drumm; P Hearty, B Dodds, C O'Boyle; P Henry, K O'Neill, C Murphy. Subs: C Henry for Doherty, M Collins for Dodds

Ref -- G Duffy (Antrim).

It was little more than a Sunday afternoon stroll in the Casement Park sunshine yesterday for Loughgiel as they surged past Ballygalget on a 2-17 to 2-6 ticket, as deserved winners.

Scorers -- Loughgiel: L Watson 1-7, (0-4f), B McCarry 1-2, E McCloskey, L McKillop (0-1f) 0-2 each, C McKinley, Declan Laverty, O McFaddden, J Scullion 0-1 each. Ballygalget: S Clarke 0-4 (0-3f), G Johnston 1-1, E Clarke 1-0, S Bailie 0-1.

Loughgiel -- D Quinn; P Gillen, N McGarry, B McAuley; M McFadden, J Campbell, M Scullion; Laverty, L McKillop; C McKinley, E McCloskey, O McFadden; B McCarry, J Scullion, L Watson. Subs: R McCloskey for Declan Laverty (50), Damian Laverty for Watson (57), K McGarry for J Scullion (57), A McCloskey for McFadden (58).

Ballygalget -- Graham Clarke; L Clarke, S Johnston, J Smyth; B Toner, D Flynn, E Clarke; P Coulter, G Flynn; G Johnston, S Bailie, J McGrattan; D Toner, S Clarke, C Doran. Subs: Gabriel Clarke for Doran (40), P Monan for G Flynn (57).

Ref -- E Hassan (Derry).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport