Tuesday 20 February 2018

Meaney's inspirational switch lights up Deise

Waterford 1-13 Clare 0-11

Sean Hogan, Waterford, in action against Jason McCarthy, Clare
Sean Hogan, Waterford, in action against Jason McCarthy, Clare
Eddie Meaney, Waterford, celebrates with team-mate Peter Hogan, left, after scoring his side's goal
Jack Mullaney, Waterford, in action against Ian Galvin, left, and Jason McCarthy, Clare
Brian Guilfoyle, Clare, in action against Conor Prunty, Waterford

A late surge by All-Ireland champions Waterford saw them overcome Clare in the quarter-finals at Cusack Park, Ennis.

The Deise side found themselves behind from the third to the 55th minutes of this Munster MHC tie.

But an inspired substitution – bringing Eddie Meaney into the attack for the last 10 minutes – saw the De La Salle clubman score a goal and a point to help his team over the line. Clare led by 0-7 to 0-5 at the break and should really have been further ahead at that stage – poor shooting proving costly as they clocked up seven wides.

A further tally of six in the second period allowed Waterford to storm back and a powerful finish in the final seven minutes in front of a crowd of 1,405 produced 1-5 to no score.

With five minutes remaining, Waterford corner-back Darragh Lyons fired over the equaliser from distance to level it at 0-11 apiece.

A Peter Hogan effort gave the visitors the lead and when Meaney toe-poked to the net after a furious goalmouth scramble on 58 minutes, Waterford had well and truly turned the tide.

Patrick Curran fired over an insurance point in injury-time to see his side safely through to the semi-final.

Scorers – Waterford: P Curran 0-7 (6fs), E Meaney 1-1, D Lyons, S Bennett (f), E O'Halloran, S Ryan, P Hogan (0-1) each. Clare: A Shanagher 0-7 (6fs, 1 '65), I Galvin, M O'Shea 0-2 each.

Waterford – B Nolan; D Prendergast, E Hayden, D Lyons; C Prunty, S Bennett, S Murray; C Gleeson, E O'Halloran; J Allen, C Curran, S Ryan (capt); P Hogan, P Curran, A Molumby. Subs: S Hogan for Allen (24), M Cronin for Molumby (38), J Mullaney for O'Halloran (49), E Meaney for Ryan (49), J Kennedy for C Curran (60).

Clare – J Loughnane; J McCarthy, S Downey, R Hayes; S Fitzgerald, D Walsh (capt), J Arthur; M O'Malley, G Whyte; I Galvin, M O'Shea, D Chaplin; P McNamara, A Shanagher, B Guilfoyle. Subs: C Fitzgerald for Whyte (h-t), C Quigley for O'Shea (52), C O'Halloran for O'Malley (inj, 56).

Ref – J Murphy (Limerick)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport