| 10.1°C Dublin

McCormack haul gives Thurles vital edge

All-Ireland champions Thurles CBS squeezed into the semi-finals with a single-point win against St Flannan's after a thrilling contest at Claughaun.

The losers will regret hitting 15 wides during a titanic battle. It was all square at the interval with St Flannan's getting their goal after 12 minutes through Niall Arthur, who then pointed to leave the Ennis side 1-5 to 0-2 in front. But a point from Denis Maher, followed by others from Aidan McCormack and Darragh Devine, narrowed the gap.

Arthur edged Flannan's in front again, but four unanswered points, two by McCormack, and two superb efforts by Mike O'Brien tied it up at the break.

Shane O'Connor cracked in a Flannan's goal six minutes into the second half, but Thurles picked off a succession of points to progress.

Scorers -- Thurles CBS: A McCormack 0-6 (0-3f), M O'Brien, D Devine 0-3 each, D Maher 0-2 (0-2f), P Ralph, P Dunne, N O'Brien 0-1 each. St Flannan's: N Arthur 1-3 (0-3f), S O'Connor 1-2, P Flanagan, D O'Halloran, M O'Neill, T Kelly, M O'Neill 0-1 each.

Thurles CBS -- A Stakelum; S Maher, C Carroll, A Power; C Barrett, D Maher, P Dunne; J Meagher, D Corbett; P Ralph, P Looby, J Bergin; A McCormack, D Devine, M O'Brien. Subs: J Bourke for Power (40), T Doyle for Corbett (42), C Treacy for Bergin (46), N O'Brien for Looby (56).

St Flannan's -- N Woods; D Lafferty, G O'Connell, C O'Loughlin; C O'Gorman, P Flanagan, S O'Halloran; B Hehir, J Guilfoyle; E Malone, S O'Connor, N Arthur; T Kelly, A Considine, D O'Halloran. Subs: C Doohan for O'Gorman (41), M O'Neill for Malone (46), J Malone for Considine (56).

Ref -- M O'Connor (Limerick).

Irish Independent