Saturday 17 March 2018

Lydia strikes to put Loreto on course

Loreto ended Lismore's five-year unbeaten run to capture their first ever All-Ireland title in a fascinating tussle at Ardfinnan yesterday.

The Kilkenny girls never trailed, but were fortunate to hold on after a second half dominated by Lismore.

Loreto shot into a 1-4 to 0-0 lead inside 20 minutes, as Lydia Fitzpatrick, Claire Phelan (2) and Áine Curran sent over quality points, and Aoife Nolan bundled in a goal.

However, BCS stormed back with a string of points before Loreto struck a body blow with a Fitzpatrick goal.

When Orla Handrick widened the margin to eight points, the tie looked as good as settled. However, Lismore summoned inspiration from a marvellous goal by Catríodhna McGlone, and when Marie Russell's frees whittled the margin back to two points, it was very much game on.

McGlone had a chance to snatch it late on, but she blazed over and the Kilkenny girls just about hung on.

Scorers -- Loreto: L Fitzpatrick 1-1, A Nolan 1-0, C Phelan 0-2 (0-2f), A Curran, O Handrick (0-1f) each. BCS Lismore: M Russell 0-5 (0-5f), C McGlone 1-1, R Whelan 0-1.

Loreto -- S Maher; S Quirke, N Kelly, S Dunne; C Shiel, G Walsh, N Butler; A Dunphy, N Byrne; A Curran, C Phelan, A Nolan; A O'Grady, L Fitzpatrick, O Handrick. Subs: A Murphy for A Nolan (h/t), N Maher for S Dunne (43), K Holland for A O'Grady (43).

BCS Lismore -- T Kiely; S Prendergast, J McCarthy, E Foley; J Johnson, S Kiernan, S Fenton; M Russell, M Tobin; A Hannon, J Burke, C Aarons; R Geoghan, C McGlone, N Prendergast. Sub: E Heneghan for J Burke (42).

Ref -- J O'Leary (Cork).

Emma Crowley's two second-half goals and Niamh McCarthy's all-round excellence helped Coláiste Choilm overturn a five-point half-time deficit to claim a memorable triumph.

Scorers -- Col Choilm: E Crowley 2-1, S Coomey 1-1, S Buckley 0-5 (0-5f), N McCarthy, T Buttimer 0-1 each. Borris VEC: M Simpson 1-2, C Quirke 1-1, K Nolan (0-1f), A Murphy 0-1 each.

Col Choilm -- A Sheehan; L Barry, A Coughlan, E O'Sullivan; C Irish, K O'Donoghue, J Hennigan; S Buckley, E Nolan; O Ní Chathasaigh , T Buttimer, N McCarthy; E Scally, S Coomey, E Crowley. Subs: E Looney for E Nolan (23), C Looney for L Barry (29), H Morgan for O Ní Chathasaigh (40), S O'Sullivan for E Scally (47), N Byrne for E Crowley (54).

Borris VEC -- K O'Byrne; E Kelly, M Kelly, C Kirwan; A Skelton, B Kelly, K Nolan; M Doyle, N Kavanagh; A Carroll, E Barcoe, A Murphy; J Barcoe, M Simpson, C Quirke.

REF -- W Barrett (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport