Monday 17 December 2018

Lixnaw take the title in surprise win

Lixnaw 1-12
Kilmoyley 2-6
Kerry SHC Final

It's time to add Kilmoyley to the list that includes the All-Blacks and Australia in a weekend of shocks as the Eamon Cregan-coached Lixnaw surprised the hot-favourites -- who had Clare's Anthony Daly on the line -- to reclaim the AIB County Kerry Senior Hurling Championship trophy, after an exciting contest played in ideal conditions at the Austin Stack Park.

Lixnaw fully deserved their win.

Lixnaw who started without Kerry All-Star Paul Galvin, imposed their game on Kilmoyley who could not match the ferocity of the likes of Enda Galvin, from the very outset and with Eamon Fitzmaurice and Trevor McKenna closing down the centre, they should have been further ahead at the break, than the 1-4 to 1-3 they took to the dressing rooms.

Shane Brick set up Joe Murnane for a 13th minute goal as Kilmoyley led 1-1 to 0-1 but once Lixnaw got going, points from Enda Galvin, Mike Conway and a goal from Killian Fitzmaurice saw them grab the initiative.

Two Shane Brick points after the break levelled the contest, but once Mike Conway restored Lixnaw's single point lead the game changed in their favour.

Conway fired over three more points as Lixnaw moved 1-10 to 1-5 with just 12 minutes left. Kilmoyley fought back late on but when James McCarthy finished a Tom Murnane free to the net, it was just a two point game.

Lixnaw will now represent Kerry on November 5.

Scorers -- Lixnaw: M Conway 0-6 ( 0-4 frees) K Fitzmaurice 1-0, J Griffin, P Lyons, E Galvin, P Galvin, R Galvin and J Flaherty 0-1 each. Kilmoyley: S Brick 0-5 ( 0-1 free), J McCarthy and J Murnane 1-0 each, B Brick 0-1

Lixnaw -- M Stackpoole, P Dowling, M Cronin, P Corridan, M Quilter, T McKenna, M Corridan, E Fitzmaurice, J Griffin, P Lyons, K Dowling, E Galvin, M Conway, K Fitzmaurice, J Flaherty

Subs: P Galvin for P Lyons, R Galvin for J Flaherty, F Fitzmaurice for R Galvin ( inj),

Kilmoyley -- B Harris, S Griffin, P Regan, I Brick, S Fitzgerald, T Murnane, C Harris, M Murnane, E Sheehy, M Regan, S Brick, P McCarthy, B Brick, J McCarthy, J Murnane

Subs -- J Godley for S Fitzgerald, S Maunsell for M O'Regan, R Gentleman for P McCarthy, P Flaherty for M Murnane

Ref --Cathal McAllister ( Cork)

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport