| 8°C Dublin

Limerick boss Allen sticks to guns for clash with Antrim

LIMERICK hurling boss John Allen has named an unchanged side for their All-Ireland qualifier clash with Antrim this afternoon.

Declan Hannon is held in reserve once again after a lengthy lay-off with a groin injury, though he did feature as a substitute in the facile win over Laois last weekend. Niall Moran starts at full-forward for the Gaelic Grounds clash, with Donal O'Grady continuing at centre-back.

Meanwhile, Rory Kavanagh has been tipped to be named in the Donegal starting side for this evening's Ulster SFC semi-final clash against Tyrone. Kavanagh's inclusion would likely see Leo McLoone revert to defence with Eamon McGee to miss out.

Gary Hurney makes his return for the Waterford footballers for their qualifier clash with Wicklow today. Hurney's inclusion, after a recovery from injury, is one of four changes from the side that lost to Limerick in Munster. Stephen Enright takes his place between the posts, while Liam O Lonain and Paul Whyte feature in attack.

Carlow have named the same team that lost heavily to Meath in their Leinster SFC quarter-final replay a fortnight ago for their clash with near-neighbours Laois. Captain Shane Redmond was thought to be a doubt, but he has been named to start by manager Luke Dempsey. Star midfielder Brendan Murphy, who had been a major doubt for the replay loss to Meath, has also been included.

Elsewhere, former Down underage star Caolan Mooney made his debut for Collingwood against Freemantle in the AFL overnight. But Mooney didn't play alongside his fellow Down man Martin Clarke. The former An Riocht star was not named in the squad.

Limerick (SH v Antrim): N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; W McNamara, D O'Grady, G O'Mahony; J Ryan, P Browne; S Dowling, B Geary, D Breen; G Mulcahy, N Moran, S Tobin.

Waterford (SF v Wicklow) - S Enright; M O'Gorman, T O'Gorman, K Connery; T Grey, S Briggs, W Hennessy; S Dempsey, P Hurney; L O Lonain, P Whyte, C O'Keeffe; M Ferncombe, G Hurney, JJ Hutchinson.

Carlow (SF v Laois) -- T O'Reilly; P Murphy, C Lawlor, B Kavanagh; K Nolan, S Redmond, T Bolger; Brendan Murphy, D Foley; Brian Murphy, C Murphy, E Ruth; JJ Smith, S Gannon, C Walshe.

Carlow (SH v Wexford) -- F Foley; K McCabe, E Nolan, H P O'Byrne; J Corcoran, S Kavanagh, E Coady; D English, R Coady; J Kavanagh, A Gaule, M Brennan; D Roberts, C Doyle, M Kavanagh.

Irish Independent