Monday 19 February 2018

Leaders of the Cats: The men who have captained Kilkenny during the Brian Cody era

2013: Colin Fennelly

The latest captain from Ballyhale Shamrocks, he has already enjoyed the honour of lifting the league trophy in May.

2012: Eoin Larkin (right)

Skippered Kilkenny to league and All-Ireland glory last year, the second man from Cody's club James Stephens to do so in his 14 campaigns as manager prior to this year.

2011: Brian Hogan

Imperious at centre-back over the last few years, Hogan enjoyed Leinster and All-Ireland glory in his season, courtesy of O'Loughlin Gaels' 2010 county title.

2010: TJ Reid

Hasn't always been a regular fixture, but history beckoned for Reid with Kilkenny on the cusp of five in a row until it was snatched away.

2009: Michael Fennelly

Came on late as a substitute in the 2009 All-Ireland final. Fennelly admitted his captaincy was slightly awkward, having featured so little.

2008: James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick

Gave a rousing speech as he lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup, Kilkenny's third title in a row.

2007: Henry Shefflin

Henry's only time to captain the team to All-Ireland glory, the first of three Shamrocks men to do it over the next three years.

2006: Jackie Tyrrell

The powerful defender (left) had the honour as the four in a row got off the ground.

2005: Peter Barry

The resolute half-back's last act was to captain Kilkenny in their 2005 All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Galway before retiring.

2004: Martin Comerford

Followed in the footsteps of brother Andy by captaining Kilkenny to an All-Ireland final, but Cork denied them glory.

2003: DJ Carey (right)

DJ's only successful All-Ireland captaincy came after Charlie Carter's departure from the squad earlier in the year.

2002: Andy Comerford

O'Loughlin Gaels' county success paved the way for Comerford's moment of glory after victory over Clare in the 2002 final.

2001: Denis Byrne

The second spell for Byrne as captain ended with an All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Galway.

2000: Willie O'Connor

Followed in the footsteps of brother Eddie as Kilkenny claimed their first All-Ireland title under Cody and a first for seven years.

1999: Denis Byrne

An unlikely captain in Cody's first year after Graigue Ballycallan's Kilkenny Championship success in 1998.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport