Monday 22 January 2018

Leacy treble buries stubborn Galway

Wexford 3-10
Galway 0-10

Wexford were put to the pin of their collars but found a way to quell the Galway resistance and in the process annex a third successive Division 1 title at Semple Stadium.

Wexford threatened to put this to bed early on with a blistering start. Kate Kelly pointed a free after just 45 seconds before Una Leacy drove a blistering shot to the roof of the Galway net four minutes later.

However, Galway fought back to trail by just two points, 1-5 to 0-6, at the break. They continued their assault on the favourites in the third quarter, the Kilkenny sisters, Orla and outstanding half-back Niamh bringing the sides level by the 36th minute.

Wexford were awarded a 49th-minute penalty, Leacy driving low to the net, to edge them in front.

Smelling blood, the champions went for the jugular, adding 1-4 in the final 14 minutes, with Leacy goaling again to clinch the trophy.

Scorers -- Wexford: U Leacy 3-1 (1-0 pen), K Kelly 0-3 (3f), U Jacob 0-2, M Leacy (1f), M O'Leary, K Parrock, E Quigley 0-1 each. Galway: A Connolly 0-5 (4f, 1 '45'), N Kilkenny 0-2, O Kilkenny, B Hanney, V Curtin 0-1 each.

Wexford -- M D'Arcy; C O'Connor, C O'Loughlin, K Atkinson; N Lambert, M Leacy, A O'Connor; D Codd, K Kelly; J Dwyer, U Jacob, M O'Leary; L Holohan, U Leacy, K Parrock. Subs: B Gordon for O'Leary (39); E Quigley for Dwyer (39); F Kavanagh for A O'Connor (52).

Galway -- S Earner; R Glynn, S Dervan, S Cahalane; N Kilkenny, AM Hayes, S Keane; E Haverty, O Kilkenny; A Connolly, N McGrath, B Hanney; V Curtin, N Coen, T Rutledge. Subs: M Conroy for Rutledge (47); E Kilkelly for McGrath (47); S Tannian for Cahalane (52); L Ryan for N Kilkenny (60)

Ref -- M O'Kelly (Cork).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport