| 3.6°C Dublin

Late Nash penalty sees Rebels into semi-finals

AN experimental Cork team qualified for the semi-finals after an injury-time penalty in extra-time from goalkeeper Anthony Nash gave them victory over UCC at Pairc Ui Rinn yesterday.

Trailing by two points as the end neared, Cork looked to be exiting the competition as a sharper UCC team, with the Fitzgibbon Cup on their minds, held sway, but Nash had other ideas.

When Brian Hartnett found the net for Cork in the 18th minute it put them 1-5 to 0-4 ahead. UCC responded with an unanswered

1-6, the goal coming from Kevin Keehan, and at half-time they led by 1-11 to 1-5.

Aided by Jamie Coughlan's free-taking, Cork ate into that lead and by the 56th minute there was just two points between the teams before Hartnett used his pace to good effect to score his second goal.

From there until full-time, it was very close, Coughlan's free levelling matters at 2-14 to 1-17 to force the game into extra-time.

With Paul Haughney excellent for UCC, they again took the initiative, but could not forge further than two ahead. They were punished when Cian McCarthy was fouled in the large rectangle in injury-time and Nash gave the three men on the line no chance.

Scorers -- Cork: J Coughlan 0-7 (0-3f, 0-2 '65s'), C Lehane 0-6 (0-4f), B Hartnett 2-0, A Nash 1-0 penalty, G Callinan, B Lawton, B Cooper, J Wall 0-1 each. UCC: K Keehan 1-3 (0-3f), P Haughney 0-5 (0-1f), D Brosnan, S Bourke (0-2f) 0-4 each, G Mulcahy 0-2, W Egan (f,) D Kearney, J Cassin, M Carroll 0-1 each.

CORK -- M Coleman; P O'Leary, C Fogarty, S Murphy; C Joyce, M Ellis, R Ryan; G Callinan, B Lawton; T Murray, B Cooper, C Lehane; J Coughlan, S Harnedy, B Hartnett. Subs: A Nash for Coleman (h-t), C McCarthy for Murray, E Murphy for Harnedy (both 45), M Cussen for Hartnett (56), B Johnson for Lawton (61), G Moylan for O'Leary, J Wall for Lehane, P O'Mahony for Joyce (all h-t in extra-time).

UCC -- L O'Flynn; W Kearney, P O'Loughlin, C O'Sullivan; P Mahony, J Nagle, W Egan; D Kearney, B O'Sullivan; S Bourke, K Keehan, D Brosnan; P Haughney, J Cassin, G Mulcahy. Subs: D O'Sullivan for Nagle, D Roche for D Kearney (both h-t), T Ryan for P Haughney (49), M Carroll for Keehan (55), S O'Farrell for D O'Sullivan (61), B Cleary for W Kearney, T Geaney for C O'Sullivan, B Collins for Mahony, Nagle for Egan, Haughney for Cassin (all end of normal time), Cassin for Brosnan (h-t in e-t).

REF -- P Casey (Waterford).

Irish Independent