| 5.2°C Dublin

Last-gasp O'Sullivan sets up replay

REIGNING champions Ballygunner and Lismore will have to do it all again on Saturday at Fraher Field after an injury-time point from Shane O'Sullivan salvaged a draw for the Gunners.

Lismore had first use of the strong breeze and got off to the perfect start when Maurice Shanahan pointed twice and Padraig Prendergast added one to give them a 0-3 to 0-0 lead with 10 minutes played.

The champions, however, hit back and by the end of the first quarter trailed by just one, as Shane Walsh and Stephen Power both pointed for the Gunners.

A brace of Shanahan points quickly followed, but they were wiped out on 18 minutes when Harley Barnes set up David O'Sullivan for the first goal of the game.

Shanahan, Prendergast and David Howard all notched points before the interval, with responses coming from Ballygunner's Stephen Power and Pauric Mahony to leave the champions trailing by 0-10 to 1-4 at the break.

Points from Shanahan, Shane Walsh, and Power -- the majority of which came from placed balls -- had the sides all square by the 43rd minute.

Power then fired the champions into the lead for the first time with 46 minutes played -- a lead they held until two minutes from the end when Maurice Shanahan crashed home a goal from a long Brendan Landers free.

In added time, it looked as if Lismore were going to be the side that advanced to the final when Howard crashed over his second point of the game, but at the death O'Sullivan scored the most important point of his life for Ballygunner to ensure that the two sides will have to do it all over again.

Scorers -- Ballygunner: S Power 0-9 (0-7f, 0-2 '65's), S Walsh 0-4, D O'Sullivan 1-0, P Mahony 0-2, S O'Sullivan 0-1. Lismore: M Shanahan 1-12 (0-10f), P Prendergast, D Howard 0-2 each.

Ballygunner -- S O'Keeffe; J Kearney, A Kirwan, W Kiely; S O'Keeffe, F Hartley, Philip Mahony; S O'Sullivan, H Barnes; S Power, S Walsh, D O'Sullivan; JJ Hutchinson, Pauric Mahony, T Power. Subs: N Waldron for F Hartley.

Lismore -- B Landers; E Bennett, M Coleman, P Howard; D O'Gorman, S Keanrey, J Prendergast; D Howard, S Bennett; D Shanahan, S O'Keeffe, R Barry; C O'Gorman, M Shanahan, P Prendergast. Subs: T Walsh for S Bennett, S Daly for S O'Keeffe, T O'Brien for R Barry.

Ref -- P Casey (Cappoquin).

Irish Independent