Sunday 18 February 2018

Kerins brothers' leadership key as Clarinbridge seal decider spot

ClarInbridge qualified for only their third Galway SHC final in 70 years by outgunning Tynagh/ Abbey-Duniry at Athenry yesterday.

The experience of former Galway players Mark and Alan Kerins provided leadership for Clarinbridge.

They were always on top after getting off to a blistering start as Eoin Forde blasted to the net after less than two minutes, with points coming either side of that from Shane Burke and Alan Kerins.

It was the worst possible start for a Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry side bidding to reach their first final since the three small parishes amalgamated in 2004.

A goal from Shane Moloney two minutes after the restart gave Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry hope but then Eanna Murphy fired home a goal for Clarinbridge after 39 minutes and they never looked back.

Scorers -- Clarinbridge: M Kerins 0-7 (0-5f), E Forde 1-3, E Murphy 1-0, A Kerins 0-2, E Collins, B Daly, S Forde, S Burke 0-1 each. Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry: R Madden 0-9 (0-6f, 0-1 s-l); S Moloney 1-1 (0-1f); P Breheny 0-1.

ClarInbridge -- L Donoghue; C Forde, B Burke, P Callanan; E Collins, D Forde, M Donoghue; B Daly, E Murphy; S Burke, M Kerins, S Forde; E Forde, A Kerins, P Coen. Sub: R Geraghty for D Forde 9.

Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry -- K Devine; P McHugo, L Hodgins, P Shiel; P Gordon, K J Shiel, Kavanagh; J Breheny, G Burke; D Donnelly, P Breheny, C Larkin; B Cunningham, S Moloney, R Madden. Subs: M Dervan for Donnelly 13, K Moloney for Kavanagh 28, K Broderick for Larkin 47, A Burke for Cunnigham 55.

Ref -- C Brown.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport