Thursday 18 January 2018

Kennedy calls the tune with brilliant winner

Our Lady's, Templemore 2-5 Midleton CBS 0-10

BRIAN KENNEDY scored a brilliant late point to secure a dramatic victory for Our Lady's in Cahir.

Kennedy struck for his third point of the match in the second minute of stoppage time to set up a semi-final showdown with 2010 and 2011 Harty Cup winners Ardscoil Ris.

Midleton, whose last Harty success came in 1978, trailed by three points at half-time, 2-3 to 0-6, but the Cork side came storming back in the second half.

Joe Mellerick's proficiency from placed balls saw the midfielder notch eight points for Midleton, but they managed just two points from play during the entire game.

Niall Motherway's 42nd-minute point tied the game at 0-10 to 2-4 and, as the match hung on a knife-edge, 20 minutes elapsed before Kennedy's decisive intervention.

The closest Midleton came to a goal was when they had a 20-metre free blocked on the line, while Jake O'Donoghue clipped the outside of the post. But Templemore survived to keep alive their hopes of a first Harty crown in 35 years.

Colin O'Riordan and John McGrath, dual All-Ireland minor medallists, were partners at midfield and it was McGrath who scored Templemore's opening goal in the seventh minute as his '65' ended up in the back of the net.

Tommy Nolan scored a superb goal in the 18th minute, whipping on a loose ball 30 yards out to put Templemore 2-2 to 0-6 in front.

Scorers – Our Lady's Templemore: J McGrath (1-0 '65', 0-1f), T Nolan 1-1 each; B Kennedy 0-3. Midleton CBS: J Mellerick 0-8 (7f, 1 '65'), N Motherway, B Dunne 0-1 each.

OUR LADY'S TEMPLEMORE – SP Guerins; J Bergin, J Ryan, D Brereton; M Campion, J Nyland, P Hogan; C O'Riordan, J McGrath; JJ Ryan, D Carey, T Nolan; B Kennedy, T Maher, D McEnroe. Subs: B O'Connell for Ryan (36), T Brett for Campion (44), J Bergin for Carey (51), J Fogarty for Nolan (60+1).

MIDLETON CBS – S Beausang; A Staunton, D Quirke, J McGrath; A Kenneally, J McCarthy, M O'Keeffe; J Mellerick, N Motherway; J O'Donoghue, S Hegarty, K Walsh; D Cahill, B Dunne, P Nagle. Subs: B Aherne for Walsh (h-t), P McMahon for O'Donoghue (58).

Ref – M O'Connor (Limerick)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport