Monday 18 December 2017

Harnett's haul does it for Rebels

Cork 2-31
Tipperary 4-22
Munster MHC (aet)

A TALLY of 1-14 from Brian Hartnett gave Cork an extra-time victory over Tipperary at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The teams were locked at 2-21 to 3-18 at the end of normal time. But six points from Hartnett in the second extra period helped Cork through. The initial 60 minutes produced a pulsating contest, Cork up 0-11 to 1-6 at half-time.

A Jamie Coughlan penalty gave the Rebels a nice cushion within a minute of the restart, but Aidan McCormack's second goal had Tipp level at 1-1 to 2-8 in the 35th minute. Hartnett and Liam McGrath continued to exchange frees, before Hartnett gave Cork a four-point lead with a brilliant diving finish on 49.

McCormack's hat-trick three minutes later brought Tipp back in it, though, and another McCormack free looked to have given them victory before Jamie Wall's late equaliser forced the additional 20 minutes.

Scorers -- Cork: B Hartnett 1-14 (0-7f), C Lehane 0-6, J Coughlan 1-0 (pen), S Moore 0-3, D Sweetman, S O'Keeffe, J Wall 0-2 each, N Kelly, M Howard 0-1 each. Tipperary: L McGrath 0-10 (0-10f), A McCormack 3-0, C Horan 1-2, N O'Meara 0-3, M O'Brien 0-4, D McCormack, D Butler, B Stapleton 0-1 each.

CORK -- G Minihane; D Lester, F O'Mahony, D Stokes; C Joyce, D O'Carroll, T McGuinness; N Kelly, D Sweetman; S O'Keeffe, S Moore, C Lehane; J Coughlan, M Howard, B Hartnett. Subs: K Buckley for McGuinness (42), R O'Shea for Howard (45), J Wall for Moore (56), C Spillane for Stokes (59), Stokes for O'Carroll, Moore for Buckley (both et), Buckley for Stokes (69), Howard for Kelly (70), B Murray for O'Shea (73).

TIPPERARY -- D Reddan; C Barrett, A Ryan, P Dunne; S Kennedy, B Stapleton, J Meagher; D Flynn, J Forde; D McCormack, N O'Meara, T Heffernan; L McGrath, A McCormack, C Horan. Subs: J Cahill for Kennedy (24), D Butler for Heffernan (47), M O'Brien for Forde (49), J McGrath for D McCormack (54), J O'Dwyer for Dunne (57), Forde for Flynn (et), L Treacy for Forde (70), Flynn for J McGrath (71), D McCormack for L McGrath (78).

Waterford 1-21
Clare 0-16

PAURIC MAHONY was virtually flawless from placed balls as defending champions Waterford eased into the semi-finals with a comprehensive win at Walsh Park, an impressive first half sowing the seeds for victory.

scorers -- Waterford: P Mahony 0-7 (0-7f), S Roche 0-4, C Heffernan 1-0, J Dillon, E Murphy, P Prendergast 0-3 each, E Madigan 0-1. Clare: N Arthur 0-10 (8f), A Cunningham, D O'Halloran, P Collins, D McInerney, C Galvin, P Flanagan 0-1 each.

WATERFORD -- D Duggan; J Barron, S O'Keeffe, L Egan; M O'Neill, D Fives, E Madigan; P Prendergast, G O'Brien; P Mahony, E Murphy, C Curran; J Dillon, C Heffernan, S Roche. Subs: S Ryan for O'Neill, C Chester for Heffernan.

Clare -- R Taaffe; H Vaughan, N Purcell, S Morey; P Flanagan, K Lynch, S O'Halloran; P Collins, T Kelly; D O'Halloran, D Keane, A Cunningham; A Mulready, N Arthur, C Galvin. Subs: J Shanahan for Cunningham, D McInerney for Keane, C O'Connell for Mulready, E Boyce for Vaughan.

Limerick 2-13
Kerry 1-13

Limerick got a fright before edging out a gallant Kerry in Kilmallock.

The home side led 1-8 to 0-5 at the interval and a second goal 40 seconds into the second half looked to have put them on cruise control. A goal by Padraig Boyle two minutes later lifted Kerry's hopes and, with Shane Dunne scoring six points and Brendan Brosnan contributing four, Limerick were left facing a battle for survival.

Scorers -- Limerick: M Ryan 1-5, J Fitzgibbon 0-4 (0-4f), D Morrissey 1-0, S Dowling 0-2, J Mulcahy and J Ahern 0-1 each. Kerry: S Dunne 0-6 (5f), P Boyle 1-1, B Brosnan 0-4 (0-3f, 1'45'), S Weir, C McCarthy 0-1 each.

Limerick -- E Webb; A Dempsey, M O'Loughlin, B Hannigan; T Ryan, D Hannon, K O'Donnell; C O'Riordan, M O'Connell; D Morrissey, W Hickey, J Mulcahy; S Dowling, J Fitzgibbon, M Ryan. Subs: M Fitzgibbon for Hickey (24), Mark Ryan for Mulcahy (36), J Ahern for Morrisey, (44), D Murphy for O'Connell (52),

Kerry -- N Leen; B Murphy, S Dowling, D Fitzelle; T Maunsell, B Brosnan, T Barrett; S Weir, J Bowler; P Boyle, T Doyle, M Delaney; C McCarthy, A Fealy, S Dunne. Subs: D Collins for Maunsell (42), D Casey for Fealy (46), T Moore for Bowler, (54).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport