Saturday 26 May 2018

Grogan grabs last-gasp glory for Tyrone

(After extra-time)

A 90th-minute point by Conor Grogan was all that separated the teams in a see-saw encounter that was in doubt right up to the last second of extra-time.

Fermanagh were the underdogs but first-half goals from Shea Curran, Declan McGarry and the sensational Sean Corrigan shocked last year's runners-up.

Some excellent long-distance shooting from placed balls by Justin Kelly, in addition to a goal and three points from Sean Og Grogan, still saw Tyrone leading at half time by 1-12 to 3-4.

Fermanagh's John Duffy and Corrigan, and Tyrone's Kelly continued to rattle up the points from a variety of angles and distances.

But Curran will rue going for a goal from 20 metres in the last act of normal time, which ended 1-20 to 3-14.

Both sides were reduced to 13 players in extra-time, all on straight red cards. It was the 74th-minute dismissal of Tyrone forward Aidan Kelly that seemed most significant, as the ever-lively Corrigan slotted three points in the latter period of extra-time to put Fermanagh three points ahead.

An 88th-minute goal from Kelly with an overhead flick restored parity and buoyed by that score, Tyrone drove forward for Grogan to snatch the winner.

McGarry received his marching orders in the second minute of injury-time, before Curran and Tyrone substitute Paudie McHugh were also sent packing after a brief, but ugly looking fight involving a number of players from the two teams.

Man of the Match: Sean Corrigan (Fermanagh)

Scorers -- Tyrone: Justin Kelly 1-8 (3f, 2 '65'), S Og Grogan 1-4, D Casey 0-4 (4f), C Grogan 0-3 (1f), A Kelly 0-2, S McKiver, G Gilmore, R O'Neill 0-1 each. Fermanagh: S Corrigan 1-8, J Duffy 0-7 (4f), S Curran, D McGarry 1-1 each, P McGoldrick 0-2 (2f), R Bogue 0-1.

Tyrone -- Jason Kelly 5; M Kelly 6, D Maguire 7, R Winters 6; M O'Gorman 6, M Grogan 7, S McCrory 6; Justin Kelly 9, C Gallagher 7; A Kelly 5, S McKiver 6, D Casey 6; G Gilmore 6, S Og Grogan 8, C Grogan 7. Subs: J Devlin 7 for Jason Kelly (h-t), R O'Neill 6 for Gilmore (47), SP Begley 6 for O'Gorman (61), S Donnelly 6 for McCrory (65), S Hagan 6 for Casey (68), Casey for McKiver (80), P McHugh 4 for Gallagher (82), P O'Connor 6 for Hagan (87).

Fermanagh -- D McPhillips 6; D Teague 6, E Morrissey 6, F Bannon 7; F McBrien 7, M Slevin 7, K Kehoe 7; J Duffy 8, R Bogue 7; JP McGarry 6, D McGarry 6, A Breslin 6; S Corrigan 9, S Curran 7, P McGoldrick 6. Subs: B Smith 7 for McGoldrick (h-t), S Mulholland 6 for McBrien (63), C McGarry 6 for Mulholland (81), McBrien for Kehoe (83), McGoldrick 6 for C McGarry (89).

Ref -- M Carroll (Roscommon).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport