Sport Hurling

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Gallagher on song as Tipp go on rampage to crush Deise

Tipperary's John McGrath in action against Kieran Power of Waterford during the Munster MHC semi-final last night
Tipperary's John McGrath in action against Kieran Power of Waterford during the Munster MHC semi-final last night

Tipperary 2-25 Waterford 0-12 Jackie Cahill Munster MHC

TIPPERARY'S first victory over Waterford at this level since 2003 was a 19-point demolition job in last night's provincial semi-final at Semple Stadium.

In front of 3,126 spectators, William Maher's impressive charges roared past the highly-rated visitors to set up a provincial final meeting with Limerick or Clare on July 15.

Maher captained Tipp to All-Ireland minor glory in 1996, and on this evidence a team containing a number of dual stars will go desperately close this season.

A first Munster minor crown since 2007 would do for starters, but reaching a first final since 2009 is a massive achievement in itself.

And they did it in real style here, outscoring Waterford by 1-17 to 0-5 in the second half. A burst of 1-4 without reply after half-time knocked the stuffing out of Waterford.

Leading by 1-8 to 0-7 at half-time, Tipp opened up with a scoring blitz and were soon 11 points clear.

Tadhg Gallagher's 32nd-minute goal set Tipp firmly on their way. The midfielder was one of three members of the Nenagh CBS All-Ireland colleges winning side in the line-up -- and he played a key role.

Tipp scored the only goal of the first half -- from Sean Ryan in the 11th minute.

Scorers -- Tipperary: M McCarthy 0-6 (4f), S Ryan 1-3, T Gallagher 1-2, J McGrath 0-5 (1 '65), S Cahill 0-4, S O'Brien 0-3, B Maher, C Lanigan 0-1 each. Waterford: Stephen Bennett 0-5 (2f), A Gleeson 0-3f, B Phelan 0-2 (1 s-l), Shane Bennett, T Devine 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY -- P Maher; R Maher, M Breen, J Peters; D Fitzelle, T Hamill, B Heffernan; B Maher, T Gallagher; J McGrath, J Shelly, S O'Brien; S Cahill, M McCarthy, S Ryan. Subs: T Kirwan for Gallagher (56), C Lanigan for McCarthy (57), J Loughnane for Fitzelle (58), S Nally for B Maher (60), T Fox for McGrath (60+1).

WATERFORD -- S Barry; K Bennett, T Bourke, Shane Bennett; D O'Brien, S McNulty, K Power; T Devine, C Dunford; DJ Foran, A Gleeson, M Harney; Stephen Bennett, B Phelan, D Flynn. Subs: J Roche for Power (36), R Donnelly for Flynn (40), M Kearney for Gleeson (51), J Walshe for Dunford (51), C Sheahan for O'Brien (54).

Ref -- S Hourigan (Limerick).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport