Sport Hurling

Thursday 19 April 2018

Four Roads make history

Four Roads 1-14 Athleague 0-6

Four Roads made history in Roscommon when they won four senior hurling crowns in succession for the first time in Athleague.

Four Roads won last year's title by 19 points and they were every bit as convincing this year against an out-of-sorts Athleague side.

Despite playing against a strong breeze in the opening half, the Tisrara men were 0-5 to 0-3 ahead at the break. When captain Johnny Coyne goaled seven minutes into the second half, Four Roads were well on their way to taking home the Mickey Cunniffe Cup. Shane Curley's accuracy also helped the Four Roads cause, as Jamie Lawlor, Eamon Mulry, Conor Coyle and Micheal Kelly kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Athleague only had three Gary Fallon efforts from frees in the second half but they were outclassed a long way from the final whistle.

SCORERS -- Four Roads: S Curley 0-5 (2 '65s, 1f, 1 sideline); J Coyne 1-2 (1f); J Lawlor 0-2; P Kelly, E Rogerson, E Mulry, C Coyle, M Kelly 0-1 each. Athleague: G Fallon 0-4 (3f, 1 '65); D Flaherty, P Leahy 0-1 each.

FOUR ROADS -- D Dowd; C Dowd, M McLoughlin, D Fallon; C Coyle, B Donnelly, T Lennon; E Mulry, M Kelly; J Lawlor, P Kelly, J Moran; S Curley, J Coyne, E Rogerson. Subs: D Dolan for P Kelly (blood sub), D Dolan for Rogerson (51), B Kelly for D Fallon (56), C Dolan for Curley (56).

ATHLEAGUE -- D Connell; A Moore, T Bannon, M Keaveney; A Cunniffe, T Reddington, D Delaney; D Flaherty, E Bannon; C Kelly, G Fallon, M Connaughton; P Leahy, N Connolly, R Fallon. Subs: S McGeeney for Connolly (42), S Moore for R Fallon (51), JP Murray for Kelly (51), D Heavey for Keaveney (56).

REF -- T Killion

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport