Sport Hurling

Friday 15 December 2017

Egan saves day as Tipp survive late Rebel rally

Tipperary 0-19 Cork 0-18

Tipperary retained their title with a nail-biting victory at Semple Stadium.

Tipperary retained their title with a nail-biting victory at Semple Stadium.

A game which generally lacked intensity ended in a welter of excitement as Cork staged a late revival going into injury-time. Sub Bill Cooper had a chance to force extra-time but elected to try and set up a match-winning goal.

However, Tipp 'keeper Darragh Egan saved from Michael O'Sullivan, with Peter O'Brien and Barry Lawton missing chances in the follow-up as Tipp managed to scramble the ball clear.

The holders began brightly, with Orrie Quirke prominent in the early stages with two points from play. Cork responded with scores from Colm Casey and centre-forward Peter O'Brien, who converted the first of 10 frees in his 12-point haul. All bar seven points of the Cork total came from frees, with goalkeeper Martin Coleman also getting on the scoresheet.

Tipperary had a greater spread of scorers, with Thomas Butler, Danny O'Hanlon and Timmy Hammersley prominent in the first half and the sides going in deadlocked at 10 points apiece.

Tipperary were quick out of the blocks in the second half, scoring the first four points, including two for goalkeeper Egan, who contributed three in total as part of a match-winning contribution that included some crucial saves.

Cork came back at Tipp and managed to edge in front with 10 minutes to go, with O'Brien scoring all bar one of his side's tally in the second half. Points from Ruairi Gleeson, Pat Shortt and Joey McLoughney gave Tipp a three-point lead late on before Cork's late, unsuccessful rally.

Scorers – Tipperary: T Hammersley 0-6 (5fs), D Egan 0-3fs, O Quirke, D O'Hanlon, R Gleeson, J McLoughney (1f) 0-2 each, T Butler, P Shortt 0-1 each. Cork: P O'Brien 0-12 (10fs), Brian Lawton, C Casey 0-2 each, M Kenefick, M Coleman (f) 0-1 each.

Tipperary – D Egan; S O'Brien, M Butler, T Treacy; W Ryan, D Young, P Heffernan; J McLoughney, S McCormack; O Quirke, T Hammersley, D O'Hanlon; R Gleeson, T Butler, P Greene. Subs: P Shortt for Greene (39); P Molloy for O'Hanlon (52); P O'Leary for Butler (55); B Fox for Quirke (55).

Cork – M Coleman; J O'Callaghan, E Dillon, M Walsh; M Ellis, R Cashman, T Healy; J Cronin, S McCarthy; Brian Lawton, P O'Brien, R O'Shea; C Casey, J Wall, M Kenefick. Subs: Barry Lawton for Wall (27); M O'Sullivan for O'Shea (43); A Watson for McCarthy (49); B Cooper for Casey (55).

Ref– D Fox (Clare)

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport