Monday 19 March 2018

Duggan seals spot in semi-finals for Banner

Clare 0-18 Cork 1-9
Munster MHC Semi-Final play-off

A sublime third-quarter performance at Cusack Park, Ennis yesterday evening secured Clare a semi-final spot and a chance to claim a third Munster minor hurling title in a row.

In front of 2,063 spectators, the visitors were very quick off the mark at the beginning of the tie and raced into a 0-4 to 0-0 lead by the 13th minute.

With full-forward Pa O'Callaghan in particular proving a handful for the Banner defence, Cork looked to be destined for the next round.

But once Clare opened their account through a Shane Taylor point from play, the headway made by Cork early on began to diminish.

By the half-time break, the sides were level at 0-7 apiece, but very few in the crowd could have predicted what came next.


Clare corner-forward Bobby Duggan hit eight unanswered points within 13 minutes of the re-start, putting the hosts in the driving seat.

Taylor added another to make it 0-16 to 0-7 before Cork's O'Callaghan fired over his team's opening second-half score, a pointed free in the 47th minute.

Cork might have been even further behind but for the vigilance of full-back Killian O'Connor, who cleared off his goal-line in the 38th minute, while moments later goalie Patrick Collins had to dive to his left to deny a certain Clare goal.

In the end the game's only goal arrived in the 57th minute, through Cork's talisman O'Callaghan, but it was no more that a consolation score as Clare had the victory in the bag from early on in the half.

Scorers -- Clare: B Duggan 0-10 (7f, 1 '65'), S Taylor 0-3, A Morey, N Deasy 0-2 each, C Deasy 0-1. Cork: P O'Callaghan 1-6 (0-5f), M Cahalane 0-2 (1 '65'), J O'Brien 0-1.

Clare -- E Quilligan; S O'Brien, B Carey, G Ryan; A McGuane, C Cleary, E Quirke; D Conroy, A Morey; S Ward, N Deasy, S Taylor; B Duggan, C Deasy, S O'Donnell. Subs: J Shanahan for Ward (h-t), S Gleeson for Conroy (53), B Corry for O'Donnell (69).

Cork -- P Collins; S Murphy, K O'Connor, A Dennehy; K McIntyre, P Fitzgerald, D Mangan; B O'Connell, K O'Neill; J Cashman, D Cahill, M Calahane; A Spillane, P O'Callaghan, J O'Brien. Subs: R Cahalane for Cashman (40), T Horgan for O'Brien (40), A Sheehan for O'Connell (53).

Ref -- P Foley (Waterford)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport