| 19.6°C Dublin

Dublin minors beat Cats

DUBLIN 2-16 KILKENNY 4-7 DUBLIN minor hurlers provided a massive boost to morale when they beat reigning Leinster Minor Hurling champions Kilkenny in this pulsating provincial semi-final at Dr Cullen Park, Carlow, yesterday.

The game looked destined for a replay when Ritchie Hogan pointed a free to make the scores 1-16 to 4-7 in injury time, but from the puck-out Dublin forced a line cut from 45 metres range. Kevin O'Reilly's splendid line ball was fielded by Dublin full forward Declan O'Dwyer who crashed the ball to the Kilkenny net for the winning score.

The winners were inspired by centre-back Tomas Brady, while John McCaffrey, Kevin O'Reilly, Joey Maher, Ross O'Carroll, Shane Dorkin and O'Dwyer were also prominent in this fully merited win.

SCORERS - Dublin: R O'Carroll 1-2, S Dorkin 0-4, J Maher, J McCaffrey (1f) 0-3 each, 0-1 '65, D O'Dwyer 1-0, K O'Reilly 0-2 (1f, 1 line cut), C Twomey and S Casey 0-1 each. Kilkenny: R Hogan 2-3 (2f), TJ Reid 1-1, E Cody 1-0, M Bergin 0-2, P Doheny 0-1.

Dublin: C McCormack, R Drumgoole, P Callaghan, E Walsh, K Dunne, T Brady, C Connolly, J Boland, J McCaffrey, K O'Reilly, C Twomey, J Maher, R O'Carroll, D O'Dwyer, S Dorkin. Subs: S Casey for Twomey, S Murphy for Callaghan, S Bennett for O'Carroll.

Kilkenny: C McGrath, B Healy, K Joyce, N Walsh, N Prendergast, R Dollard, S Campion, J Farrell, P Hogan, M Bergin, P Doheny, T J Reid, E Cody, R Hogan, M Ruth. Subs: E O'Shea for Campion, J Mulhall for Doheny.

Referee: S Whelan (Wexford)



WEXFORD may have only won by a margin of three points but they were always in control of this Leinster Minor Hurling Championship semi-final tie at Dr Cullen Park yesterday.

Wexford led 1-9 to 1-2 at half time, with midfielder Thomas Waters and forwards PJ Nolan and Keith Burke inflicting the scoring damage on Laois.

Laois battled bravely and lacked nothing in determination but lacked the economy of effort shown by Wexford in making and taking scores.

SCORERS - Wexford: TJ Nolan 1-3; K Burke 0-5, T Waters 0-4, D Redman 0-2, F O'Gorman 0-1, J Codd 0-1. Laois: W Highland 2-0, M Bermingham 1-0 pen, C Delaney 0-4, C Donne, N Delaney, D O'Flaherty 0-1 each.

Wexford: N Maher, C Power, B O'Connor, K Walsh, R Griffin, G Sinnott, C McGovern M Malloy, T Waters, F O'Gorman B Travers P Hughes, PJ Nolan, K Burke, Redman. Subs: J Codd for Travers, F Roche for Burke, J Flynn for Redman.

Laois: P Carroll, B Japerton, D Murphy, M Bermingham, D Dooley, C Donne, I Kavanagh, N Delaney, J O'Loughlin, K Finlay, D Maher, M Whelan, C Delaney, D O'Flaherty, W Highland. Subs: T Burke for Kavanagh, O Fitzpatrick for Maher.

Referee: J Quinlan (Carlow).