| 1.4°C Dublin

Dromin no match for Clonlara as they claim title

Limerick representatives Dromin-Athlacca were no match for Clare title-holders Clonlara yesterday at Cusack Park, Ennis in front of a 2,283 crowd.

Dromin-Athlacca had a game-less passage to the final due to the fact that Waterford did not send a representative to contest the semi-final -- their championship is still in progress. Whereas Clonlara were battle hardened having overcome Carrigtwohill and Lorrha along the way.

The South East Clare side began in determined fashion and two points by Donal Madden inside six minutes signalled their intent. Paul Neenan got the Limerick outfit off the mark in the eighth minute with a pointed free before Clonlara's John Conlon and Neenan again exchanged scores to make it three-two by the 10th.

But it was to be Dromin-Athlacca's last score of the half until James Kelliher hit a good point from play in injury-time. In the interim, Clonlara fired over five unanswered scores, three by Madden and two from the impressive Conlan.

The Banner champs took their foot off the gas late in the half and three wides in a row gave the Limerick side some hope.

But from the re-start the dominance of Clonlara continued with four early points. Darach Honan, Madden on two occasions and Cormac O'Donovan all hit the target with ease.

Neenan converted another Dromin-Athlacca free before yet another O'Donovan score for the home-side made it 13 to 4 by the 42nd.

Dromin enjoyed a purple patch for a time when they hit three unanswered points in as many minutes but when John Conlan's ferocious shot sailed passed goalie Mark Moynihan with nine minutes remaining, the inevitable outcome was sealed.

Scorers -- Clonlara: D Madden (0-7) 3 f's, J Conlan (1-3), C O'Donovan (0-2),D Honan, T O'Donovan (0-1) each. Dromin-Athlacca: E O'Leary (1-1), P Neenan (0-4) 2 f's, J Kelliher, P Storan, T Ryan (f) (0-1) each.

Clonlara -- G O'Connell, B Woods, J Moloney, P Collins (Capt.) D O'Donovan, P Nihill, N O'Connell, C O'Donovan, D Conway, J Conlan,

Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

T o'Donovan, P O'Hare, D Honan, D Maddan, T Lynch; Subs: A O'Connell for Lynch (60).

Dromin-Athlacca -- M Moynihan, M Meade, G O'Leary, P Herlihy, D Walsh (Capt.), E Benson, M Kelliher, B Kelliher, P Neenan, P Storan, R Ryan, G Kelliher, J Kelliher, G Costelloe, T Ryan; Subs: E O'Leary for Costelloe (28), M Walsh for R Ryan (half-time), P Ryan for G Kelliher (37), K Shortt for Walsh (47).

REF -- D Copps (Cork).

Most Watched