Tuesday 11 December 2018

Deise blow as Mahony heads for America

Cliona Foley

WATERFORD'S hurlers will be without both of their championship midfielders when Michael Ryan's side open their Allianz League Division 1A campaign against Clare next weekend.

Stephen Molumphy will be away on overseas duty with the Irish army, while Ballygunner's Philip Mahony is going travelling to America, which looks likely to rule him out of both league and championship action this season.

Mahony, whose younger brother Paudie is also a Deise starter, has been particularly versatile in his burgeoning senior career, lining out at wing-back and corner-back before partnering Molumphy at centre-field last year.

Waterford veteran Tony Browne still hasn't confirmed his plans, but it is believed that, if he does return for a phenomenal 22nd season, it will not be until the latter stages of the National League.

Meanwhile, Dublin's footballers are likely to be without Diarmuid Connolly for their next two Allianz League games, although the ankle injury he sustained against Kerry last Sunday is not as serious as first feared.

Michael Darragh Macauley will also miss the Mayo game on March 2 after receiving a straight red card against the Kingdom, but Denis Bastick's return from suspension will provide midfield cover.

Elsewhere, Waterford and Limerick have more players in the Munster squad than Kerry for Sunday's inter-provincial football semi-final against Ulster in Armagh.

Tipperary have seven players in the hurling panel for their match against Ulster, while Kilkenny supply half of Joe Dooley's Leinster squad who take on Connacht in Tullamore on Sunday. This will be a first competitive outing of the season for many of the Cats' All-Ireland heroes.

MUNSTER (SH v Ulster) – B Bugler, C Ryan (Clare), A Nash, S O'Neill, T Kenny, P Cronin, P O'Sullivan, P Horgan (Cork), T Condon, D O'Grady, G O'Mahony, W McNamara, S Dowling, G Mulcahy (Limerick), B Cummins, P Curran, B Maher, S McGrath, P Maher, B O'Meara, E Kelly (Tipperary), M Walsh, N Connors, S Sullivan, S Daniels, P Mahony (Waterford).

MUNSTER (SF v Ulster) – A Clohessy, G Brennan, R Donnelly (Clare); N O'Leary (capt), P Kissane, P Kerrigan, A Walsh, C O'Neill, D O'Connor, E Cadogan (Cork); B Kealy, M O Se, A O'Mahony (Kerry); G Collins, J O'Riordan, T Lee, S O'Carroll (Limerick); P Fitzgerald, P Codd (Tipperary); T Grey, M O'Gorman, P Whyte, G Hurney (Waterford).

LEINSTER (SH v Connacht) – G Maguire, L Rushe, P Kelly, S Durkin, D Sutcliffe, C Keaney (Dublin), D Herity, B Hogan (capt), J Tyrrell, P Murphy, JJ Delaney, T Walsh, K Joyce, M Fennelly, R Hogan, E Larkin, R Power, C Fennelly, A Fogarty (Kilkenny), W Hyland (Laois), R Hanniffy, J Bergin, S Dooley (Offaly), A Shore, R Keogh, D Redmond (Wexford).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport