Friday 15 December 2017

Dead-eyed Lynch steals show in Ardscoil stroll

Ardscoil RIs 2-19 Our Lady's Templemore 1-8

Cian O'Brien, Ard Scoil Ris, in action against Tommy Brett, Our Lady's Templemore
Cian O'Brien, Ard Scoil Ris, in action against Tommy Brett, Our Lady's Templemore

Jackie Cahill

Ronan Lynch was the star turn as Ardscoil Rís crushed Our Lady's Templemore in Nenagh to book their place in the semi-finals.

Lynch, Munster's Minor Hurler of the Year in 2013, bagged 12 points as the 2010 and 2011 winners advanced to the last four.

The Limerick outfit will meet the winners of Tuesday's re-arranged fixture between Dungarvan CBS and Hamilton High School Bandon for a place in the final.

Lynch's haul was made up of eight frees, three points from play and a terrific sideline cut.

Another of Limerick's 2013 Munster MHC winners, Cian Lynch, added three points, and corner-forward Micheal O'Loughlin finished with 1-3 from play.

Our Lady's Templemore won last year's semi-final between the sides but it was a different story from the outset this time as Ardscoil got out of the blocks quickly.

With the breeze in the first half, Ardscoil established a 2-11 to 1-4 half-time advantage, as Colin Crehan and O'Loughlin struck for goals.

Crehan bagged the first in the 21st minute before O'Loughlin took a pass from Alex Morey to finish well from close range.

When the dead-eyed Lynch tagged on a 25th-minute free, Ardscoil had established an unassailable 2-7 to 0-3 advantage.

Tommy Nolan responded with a goal for Templemore four minutes before half-time but Ardscoil were the slicker side as they dominated exchanges around the middle third of the field.

Even before throw-in, a physically-imposing Ardscoil made their intentions clear as a series of scuffles broke out all over the field.

And when referee David Copps got the game underway, it was Ardscoil, playing with the breeze, who hit the ground running.

Ardscoil were 0-4 to 0-1 clear by the 12th minute before Tipperary senior panellist Colin O'Riordan, who cut a subdued figure for much of the game, burst into life with a powerful long-range point.

Templemore's leading scorer Nolan cut the deficit back to a point with a free but Ardscoil kicked on and those early goals were no more than their first-half dominance deserved.

Templemore did have the gap back to seven points in the 42nd minute when Dylan Carey pointed but after Ardscoil registered eight first-half wides, it was the Tipperary school's turn to be profligate in the second period.

Scorers -- Ardscoil Rís: R Lynch 0-12 (8fs, 1 s-l), M O'Loughlin 1-3, C Crehan 1-0, C Lynch 0-3, A Morey 0-1. Templemore: T Nolan 1-5 (0-4fs), D Carey 0-2, C O'Riordan 0-1.

ARDSCOIL RÍS -- P O'Loughlin; E Costelloe, B Fitzpatrick, J O'Halloran; G Brown, M Casey, J English; C O'Brien, R Lynch; A Gillane, C Lynch, I Galvin; C Crehan, A Morey, M O'Loughlin.

Subs: T Grimes for Gillane (44), C McCarthy for O'Brien (44), C O'Brien for Casey (55), K Daly for Crehan (56).

OUR LADY'S TEMPLEMORE -- D O'Shea; E Moloney, P Hogan, K Ahearne; B O'Connell, B McGrath, K Hassett; C O'Riordan, T Brett; J Moloney, D Carey, JJ Ryan; S Nolan, D Moloney, T Nolan. Subs: J Bergin for S Nolan (37), J Fogarty for Brett (40), A Ryan for J Moloney (59).

REF -- D Copps (Limerick).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport