| 11.4°C Dublin

Daly swings it for Fingal

Table-toppers Fingal finished the season in style at Kingspan Breffni Park to take the title at the expense of Donegal.

A 55th-minute goal by centre-forward Peter Daly was pivotal to sealing the deal for the winners, who had to play the final 20 minutes with 14 men after full-forward Dave Smyth was red-carded for a striking offence.

After 15 minutes Fingal trailed by 1-1 to 0-2, with Ronan McDermott's overhead flick on 11 minutes putting the Tir Chonaill men in front, but they upped the ante with some fine first-time striking, storming back to snatch victory and the title.

Man of the match: D Flood (Fingal)

Scorers – Fingal: P Daly 1-0, D Flood 0-3, JM Sheridan (1f), D Smyth 0-2 each, B McCarthy, P McAllister 0-1 each Donegal: R McDermott 1-0, L Henderson (2fs), C Mathewson 0-2 each, P Hannigan 0-1.

Fingal – H Murray-Hession 7; A Morris 6, D Markey 7, G Morris 6; N Ring 6, D Vaughan 7, P Sheridan7; K O'Flynn 7, A Richardson 7; D Flood 8, P Daly 7, JM Sheridan 7; C Foley 5, D Smyth 5, B McCarthy 6. Subs: C O'Flynn 5 for C Foley (51), P McAlllister 6 for B McCarthy (61), N Feeney 5 for G Morris (72), R Sheridan 5 for P Daly (72).

Donegal – P Burns 7; M McGrath 6, J McGee 5, B Harigan 7; C McDermott 7, J Boyle 7, J Donnelly 6; P Sheridan 7, D Cullen 7; S McVeigh 5, E McDermott 5, L Henderson 6; S Boyle 6, P Hannigan 7, R McDermott 7. Subs: C Mathewson 7 for E McDermott (44), K Campbell 5 for S Boyle (62).

Ref – G Chapman (Sligo).

Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

Most Watched