Wednesday 13 December 2017

Cullen seals four in a row for Tones

Wolfe Tones 2-10
Clonguish 1-10
Longford SHC Final
ST MARY'S (Carrick OS) 2-9

Wolfe Tones claimed their fourth successive title after they saw off a strong challenge from Clonguish at Pearse Park on Saturday.

The Edgeworthstown side had to dig deep for victory, however, needing a late point from Martin Coyle to force the game into extra-time before substitute John Cullen netted a brilliant goal to win it.

Clonguish had earlier raced into the lead with the help of a Neil Casey goal, though Andy Kelly responded in kind for Tones.

Scorers -- Wolfe Tones: A Kelly 1-1, J Cullen 1-0, P Cullen (0-2f), M Coyle 0-3 each, N Cox 0-2, S Hannon 0-1. Clonguish: J O'Brien 0-7 (0-6f), N Casey 1-1, B Burke, C Corcoran 0-1 each.

Wolfe Tones -- J Nolan; S McNally, T Stakem, K Shine; J Dempsey, S Browne, N Cox; J Lynam, B Stakem; A Kelly, M Coyle, S Hannon; M Cassidy J Newman, P Cullen. Subs: J Carroll for Dempsey (19); J Cullen for Shine (42); K Cox for Kelly (64).

Clonguish -- E Daly; J Devine, F Daly, P Barden; P McGuinness, J O'Brien, A Corcoran; B Burke, P Dowd, T Prunty; J O'Brien, C Corcoran; J Minnock, N Casey, S Connolly. Subs: P Corcoran for Barden (23), D Kiernan for Minnock (37), J Minnock for E Daly (51), R Breslin for Kiernan (61).

Ref -- F Brennan (Westmeath)

Carroll helps Mary's to 12th straight title

St Mary's overcame a competitive Gortletteragh to claim their 12th title in a row in a hugely entertaining final, which took place at Pairc Sean Mhic Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday evening.

The champions found the net through Andrew Molloy in the first half and Fergal Carroll just after the restart, though Gortletteragh pushed them all the way, with Morgan Quinn their top scorer on seven points.

Scorers -- St Mary's: A Molloy, F Carroll 1-0 each, C Cunniffe 0-7 (0-4f), B Carroll, P McWeeney 0-1 each; Gortletteragh: M Quinn 0-7 (0-4f), T Beirne 0-2, S Mallon, K McGrath 0-1 each.

ST MARY'S -- G Coone; V McDermott, J Keane, L Greene; D Reynolds, D Tiernan, K Boyle; J Glancy, C Cunniffe; P McWeeney, B Carroll, A Molloy; D Deegan, F Carroll, D Singleton. Subs: B Murray for Singleton, Beirne for A Molloy.

GORTLETTERAGH -- T McLoughlin; S Bohan, C Beirne, S Costello; D Kennedy, C McCrann, B Duignan; D Kennedy, M Quinn; M O'Donoghue,T Beirne, J McGuinness; S Mallon,M Beirne, K McGrath. Subs: P Kennedy for O'Donoghue.J Gilhooley for P Kennedy.

REF -- P Maguire (Sligo).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport