Sport Hurling

Monday 23 October 2017

Cullen and Browne crush Clonguish

Wolfe Tones 3-12 Clonguish 2-14

Wolfe Tones edged out their close rivals Clonguish to take their 14th county title at Pearse Park.

Wolfe Tones edged out their close rivals Clonguish to take their 14th county title at Pearse Park.

Very little separated these two teams throughout this entertaining contest, but the Edgeworthstown side managed to hold out and withstand a late rally to seal the victory by a single point.

A crafty converted goal from full-forward Sean Browne and a brace of points from Martin Coyle gave Wolfe Tones the early initiative in the opening quarter. Clonguish, nonetheless, refused to relinquish their title without a fight and gradually bridged the gap, thanks to their sharp-shooter Joe O'Brien.

O'Brien put in a powerful performance for his team at corner-forward and notched up an impressive tally of 2-8.

But his masterclass wasn't enough to see off the challenge of Wolfe Tones, who displayed great self-belief, particularly in the closing stages when the pressure was on.

With the sides deadlocked at the interval, Clonguish bagged their opening goal after the break when a long ball sent by Eanna Daly was flicked to the roof of the net by O'Brien.

Wolfe Tones responded swiftly with the help of two frees from Eoin Donnellan and two fine scores from Luke Kelly and Kealan Cox.

Three points in quick succession from the stick of O'Brien tilted the balance back in Clonguish's favour with 10 minutes to go, but two goals from Paddy Cullen and Sean Browne in the final minutes was enough to secure them the title for the first time since 2010.

Scorers – Wolfe Tones: S Browne 2-0, E Donnellan 0-4 (3fs), P Cullen 1-0, M Coyle, J Mulhern, J Casey 0-2 each, K Cox, L Kelly 0-1 each. Clonguish: J O'Brien 2-8 (2f), K Murray, P Corcoran, E Daly (2f) 0-2 each.

Wolfe Tones – H O'Kane; F Coyle, T Stakem, J Caffney; C Fahy, B Stakem, J Lynam; J Casey, M Coyle; L Kelly, K Cox, J Mulhern; E Donnellan, S Browne, P Cullen. Subs: J Cullen for L Kelly (49).

Clonguish – J Minnock; D Connolly, T Prunty, R Breslin; C Corcoran, B Burke, P Barden; A Watters, G Moore; E Daly, S O'Brien, P Corcoran; J O'Brien, P McGarry, K Murray. Subs: P Dowd for S O'Brien (42), M Farrell for P McGarry (50).

Ref – T Killian (Roscommon).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport