| 6°C Dublin

Cork class routs poor tribesmen

Cork eased their way into the final after they blitzed Galway at Mallow GAA grounds last night.

The reigning champions were in superb form in the opening 30 minutes as they built an 0-11 points to 0-0 lead at the break.

The second half didn't get much better for the Tribesmen as they were again outplayed, with the victors refusing to take their foot off the gas when registering a further 2-5.

Surprisingly, it was Galway that opened the brighter and had the majority of the possession in the first 10 minutes, but they failed to capitalise on their dominance as their opponents played the counter-attacking game to perfection.

This was as close to total football as any team in the red-and-white of Cork will produce this year, as both the defensive lines and the attacking sextet went about their business with clinical efficiency.

Cork will now face either Donegal and Meath from the other semi-final, but there is no doubt the champions won't be dethroned lightly.

Scorers -- Cork: J O'Donoghue 1-2, M Vaughan, J Corkery, D Harrington, M Sugrue 0-3 each, S O'Mahoney 1-0, M Howard, G O'Callaghan 0-1 each. Galway: C O Suilleabhain, E Teagle 0-1 each.

Cork -- S Masters; J Ryan, E Delaney, N McCarthy; L O'Neill, D O'Connell, TJ Brosnan; S O'Mahoney, M Howard; G O'Callaghan, M Sugrue, M Vaughan; D Harrington, J O'Donoghue, J Corkery. Subs: G Barry for Brosnan (h-t), G Farrell for Howard (42), E Goggin for Harrington (42), A Gould for O'Callaghan (44), C Cullinane for J Corkery (44).

Galway -- C O'Conghaile; M Collins, C Breathnach, D Murray; D Seoige, C O Domhnaill, P Ezergailis; A Connolly, C Seoige; C O hIarnain, E Teagle, S Sammon; C O Conaire, C O Suilleabhain, S O Leidhinn. Subs: R O Bearra for D Seoige (45), D Wall for O Leidhinn (45), A O Laoi for O Conaire (46).

Ref -- G Lynch (Kerry)

Irish Independent