Thursday 12 December 2019

Corbett in line to complete Player of the Year double in GPA awards

Colm Keys

Colm Keys

All-Ireland finalists Tipperary and Kilkenny have both received fewer Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year nominations than they did for the Vodafone GAA All Stars.

Champions Tipperary have 12 nominations in all, three less than the All Stars: Michael Cahill and Patrick Maher join Conor O'Mahony on the sidelines for the awards night that takes place on Friday, November 5.

Kilkenny have 10 nominations, one less than the All Stars -- Aidan Fogarty keeps the tuxedo in the wardrobe.

The nominations are on course to be the same as the All Star hurling team, with Lar Corbett favourite to get the Hurler of the Year award after being nominated along with Tipp colleague Brendan Maher and Kilkenny pair Tommy Walsh and Michael Fennelly.

The Hurler of the Year will drive away from Citywest on the night with a car worth €25,000. Each selected member of the team will pick up a cheque for €2,500.


In all there are seven different nominations between the GPA and All Star teams. Dublin's Gary Maguire ousts Waterford's Clinton Hennessy as one of the three nominations for goalkeeper, while Cork's Brian Murphy takes Cahill's place at left corner-back.

There is no room for John Gardiner of Cork, with Waterford's Declan Prendergast coming into the reckoning in one of the half-back positions. The most surprising omission is that of Galway's Ger Farragher, as Offaly's Rory Hannify comes in.

Pat Horgan's second-half tour de force for Cork against Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final wasn't enough to earn the nomination in attack ahead of Dublin's Alan McCrabbe, while Maher makes way on the GPA nominations for Antrim's Neil McManus. The final change sees Darach Honan of Clare push Fogarty out of contention.

Nominees for Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year 2010: Goalkepeers: Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) / Gary Maguire (Dublin) / Donal Óg Cusack (Cork) Right corner-backs: Noel Connors (Waterford) / John Dalton (Kilkenny) / Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary) Full-backs: Eoin Cadogan (Cork) / Paul Curran (Tipperary) / Shane Kavanagh (Galway) Left corner-backs: Ollie Canning (Galway) / Brian Murphy (Cork)/ Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny) Right half-backs: Declan Fanning (Tipperary) / Tony Browne (Waterford) / Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny) Centre-backs: Tony Óg Regan (Galway) / Ronan Curran (Cork) / Michael Walsh (Waterford) Left half-backs: Declan Prendergast (Waterford)/ Padraic Maher (Tipperary)/ JJ Delaney (Kilkenny) Midfield: Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)/ Rory Hannify (Offaly) / Brendan Maher (Tipperary) / Shane McGrath (Tipperary) / Shane O'Sullivan (Waterford) / Michael Rice (Kilkenny) Right half-forwards: Damien Hayes (Galway) / TJ Reid (Kilkenny) / Gearoid Ryan (Tipperary) Centre-forwards: Noel McGrath (Tipperary) / Neil McManus (Antrim) / Henry Sheflin (Kilkenny) Left half-forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary) / Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny) / Niall McCarthy (Cork) Right corner-forwards: Eoin Kelly (Tipperary) / Shane Dooley (Offaly) / Darach Honan (Clare) Full-forwards: Richie Power (Kilkenny) / Joe Canning (Galway) / Liam Watson (Antrim) Left corner-forwards: John Mullane (Waterford) / Alan McCrabbe (Dublin) / John O'Brien (Tipperary)

Nominees for Opel GPA Player of the Year for Hurling 2010:

Lar Corbett (Tipperary) / Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny) / Brendan Maher (Tipperary) / Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny).

Nominations for other GPA Player of the Year 2010 Awards:

Christy Ring Cup: Joe Clarke (Westmeath) / Tom Murnane (Kerry) / Jonathan O'Neill (Wicklow) / Paul Branniff (Down) Nicky Rackard Cup: Mark Mythen (London) / Paul McCormack (Armagh) Lory Meagher Cup: Garret Ghee (Longford) / Mark Patton (Donegal).

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: John Cooney on Ulster's European run and bouncing back from World Cup disappointment

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport