| 18.2°C Dublin

Carey among seven Cats included on best Leinster team of past 25 years

SIX of the current Kilkenny hurling team have been selected on Leinster's best team of the last 25 years, the selection of which was organised by the provincial council as part of the GAA's 125th anniversary celebrations.

DJ Carey brings Kilkenny's representation to seven, while Offaly have five and Wexford three. The Dooley brothers, Johnny and Joe have been selected in an attack, which, somewhat surprisingly, includes Kilkenny's Tommy Walsh at left half-forward.

Walsh won an All Star award at No 12 in 2005 but is generally regarded as being a much better right half-back where he has operated for the past few years.

However, he would have been in opposition to Brian Whelahan for the No 5 shirt so presumably that's why the adjudication panel moved him into attack for this particular exercise.

The Leinster football team (1984-2009) will be named at the football final next Sunday and both selections will be honoured at a function in October.

Leinster SH 1984-2009:

D Fitzhenry (Wexford); M Kavanagh (Kilkenny), N Hickey (Kilkenny), M Hanamy (Offaly); B Whelahan (Offaly), L Dunne (Wexford), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny); G O'Connor (Wexford), J Kelly (Offaly); Johnny Dooley (Offaly), H Shefflin (Kilkenny), T Walsh (Kilkenny); E Brennan (Kilkenny), DJ Carey (Kilkenny), Joe Dooley (Offaly).

Sport Newsletter

Get the best analysis and comment from our award-winning team of writers and columnists with our free newsletter.

This field is required

Most Watched