Thursday 14 December 2017

Callan goal crucial for Wee County

Louth 2-11
Sligo 0-11 ~
NHL Div 3B
Donegal 2-13
Tyrone 0-11

A GOAL in the opening minute of the second half proved vital for Louth as they began their campaign with victory over Sligo in Dundalk.

Full-forward Shane Callan connected with a Gerard Smyth free to send the ball past Mark Kearney and extend the hosts' narrow interval lead to 2-5 to 0-7.

A run of three successive points by Sligo cut the gap to the minimum, but the Connacht county could get no closer.

Louth were in front by 2-7 to 0-11 when Sligo corner-back Jamie Kenny picked up a second yellow card, and it signalled the end of their challenge.

The visitors had led by 0-5 to 0-2, but a converted penalty by Smyth in the 31st minute helped Louth to a 1-5 to 0-7 advantage at the break.

Scorers -- Louth: G Smyth 1-6 (1-0 pen, 0-3f), S Callan 1-1, W Morrissey 0-2, D O'Sullivan (0-1s/l), D Murphy 0-1 each. Sligo: C Herrity 0-6 (0-4f), D Burke 0-2, M Gilmartin, C O'Mahoney, A Cawley 0-1 each.

LOUTH -- E McArdle; A Wallace, J Carter, M Wallace; B Murphy, D Horan, E McCarthy; R Byrne, D O'Sullivan; G Smyth, G Rellis, S Fennell; D Murphy, S Callan, W Morrissey. Subs: K McNally for Rellis (42), A Callan for Fennell (60), G Kerrigan for O'Sullivan (70).

SLIGO -- M Kearney; J Kelly, W Gill, J Kenny; R Cox, M Burke, L Reidy; C Herrity, M Gilmartin; V O'Hora, D Burke, J Bannerton; M Gordon, C O'Mahoney, A Cawley. Subs: A Walsh for Bannerton (66), N Cadden for M Burke (70), P Quinn for O'Mahoney (70).

REF -- R Matthews (Antrim).

Two second-half goals from Eugene Organ helped Donegal secure victory at Healy Park, where Niall Campbell's nine-point haul also proved crucial.

Tyrone had just taken the lead for the first time when the full-forward got his opener on 50 minutes.

Tyrone finished with 14 men after Shea McKiver picked up a straight red card.

Scorers -- Donegal: E Organ 2-1, N Campbell 0-9 (0-2f, 0-1 '65), C Matthewson 0-2, M McCann 0-1. Tyrone: D Lavery 0-6 (0-5f), C Grugan 0-2, S McKiver, Rory O'Neill, G Fox 0-1 each.

Donegal -- P O'Brien; J McGee, C Breathnach, M Patton; A McDermott, J Donnelly, J Boyle; P Hannigan, A Begley; C Matthewson, M McCann, N Campbell; D White, E Organ, L Henderson. Subs: B Friel for Begley, M Timmoney for Henderson

Tyrone -- S McLaughlin; SP Begley, J Patton, M Kelly; M O'Gorman, S Donnelly, S McRory; T Hughes, A Kelly; Ryan O'Neill, D Lavery, S McKiver; C Grugan, Rory O'Neill, G Fox. Subs: C McHugh for O'Gorman, B McGilloway for Grugan, N McKiver for Rory O'Neill.

Ref -- J O'Rourke (Monaghan).

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport