Saturday 18 November 2017

Cahalane Hamilton hero

Hamilton HS, Bandon 0-13 Dungarvan CBS 0-11

Dungarvan’s Billy Egan is hooked by Michael Cahalane during the Harty Cup quarter-final in Mallow. SPORTSFILE
Dungarvan’s Billy Egan is hooked by Michael Cahalane during the Harty Cup quarter-final in Mallow. SPORTSFILE

HARTY CUP: MICHAEL CAHALANE scored 10 points as Bandon's Hamilton High School got the better of Dungarvan in Mallow to qualify for the semi-finals for the first time.

Cahalane, a dual Cork minor last year, is currently training with Jimmy Barry-Murphy's senior hurling panel and on this evidence it will not be long before he makes a big impact.

Micheál McSweeney and Luke Meade were also excellent, but it was primarily a team effort which got Hamilton over the line against opponents featuring a number of players who had featured on the combined Dungarvan Colleges side which won the Harty Cup for the last two years.

Having had the wind at their backs, Hamilton led by 0-8 to 0-4 at half-time, with Cahalane accounting for six of their scores.

Darragh Lyons excelled in a sweeping role for Dungarvan in the first half and they opted to keep him there for the second, even though they had the elements in their favour.

Cormac and Patrick Curran did their best to engineer a Dungarvan comeback, but good Bandon defending meant that they could never draw level, while Cahalane continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over at the other end.

Dungarvan did manage to get to within a point as the game moved into injury-time, but Cahalane had the last say by restoring Hamilton's two-point advantage to seal a semi-final date with Ardscoil Rís.

SCORERS - Hamilton HS: M Cahalane 0-10 (5fs, 2 '65s', 1 s-l), T Horgan 0-2, L Meade 0-1. Dungarvan CBS: P Curran 0-7 (4fs, 1 '65'), C O'Grady 0-2, C Barry, A Donnelly 0-1 each.

HAMILTON HS - R McCarthy; A O'Connell, M McSweeney, J O'Calalghan; N Murray, C O'Leary, M Kennelly; J Mulcahy, L Meade; J O'Neill, T Horgan, D Curran; B Crowley, M Cahalane, K O'Donovan. Sub: E O'Reilly for Crowley (28).

DUNGARVAN CBS - S Murray; B Egan, K Daly, C Culloo; C Barry, M Cronin, S Nugent; C Curran, M Shine; P Curran, A Donnelly, C O'Grady; D Lyons, C Morrissey, G Waters.

Ref - F Horgan (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport