| 6.6°C Dublin

Brosnan points way for Meelin

Impressive corner-forward Eamon Brosnan, who skilfully notched up a tally of 11 points, secured Cork outfit Meelin a spot in the final with a deserved victory over Galway champions Bearna-Na Forbacha in Ennis.

Bearna-Na Forbacha fought hard throughout but were not helped with the sending off of full-forward Roibeard Ó Curraoin a minute into the second half for a second yellow-card offence.

The dismissal of Ó Curraoin made life very difficult for the Galway team, who were already trailing by 0-10 to 1-1 at the half-time interval.

A goal from a Gregory Ó Sioda penalty had levelled matters after 17 minutes, but that was as close as the Gaeltacht side came as Meelin powered into a place in the decider, against John Lockes.

SCORERS -- Meelin: E Brosnan 0-11 (5fs, 1'65); DJ Sullivan 0-3, J Curtin 0-2. Bearna-Na Forbacha: G Ó Sioda 1-3 (1-0 pen, 2fs, 1'65); S Mac Fhlannchadha 0-1.

Meelin -- S O'Sullivan; M Forrest, D O'Riordan, D Lenihan; W Buckley, K Collins, Jerry Forrest; L Collins, W Murphy; John Forrest, S O'Riordan, B O'Sullivan; E Brosnan, J Curtin, DJ O'Sullivan. Subs: B Collins for B O'Sullivan (53).

Bearna-Na Forbacha -- A Ó Súilleabháin; C MacCormaic, P MacCormaic, T de Burca; S Ó Dubhshlain, G Ó Sioda, C Ó Droighneáin; C Ó hArragain, G Ó Curraoin; C Ó hAnlai, R Ó Cualain, P Ó Neachtain; DD Ó Fatharta, R Ó Curraoin, M Slemon. Subs: D Ó Droighneáin for Slemon (36); S Mac Fhlannchadha for Ó Faharta (42).

Ref -- D O'Driscoll (Limerick).

Irish Independent