Friday 23 February 2018

Brennan's strike foils Ardscoil bid

St Kieran's 2-11

Ardscoil Ris 2-8

Ardscoil Ris were denied their first Croke Cup title following a resilient performance by Kilkenny kingpins St Kieran's in an entertaining final at Semple Stadium yesterday.

In a tight encounter, the sides were level at 0-5 to 1-2 at half-time, with Paul Buggy netting the St Kieran's goal. Goals from Brendan O'Connor and John Fitzgibbon at the beginning of the final quarter saw Ardscoil Ris then claim a 2-8 to 1-6 lead.

However, Kieran's staged a magnificent comeback, hitting 1-5 without reply including a Michael Brennan goal in the 51st minute, as the famous Noreside nursery claimed its 17th All-Ireland title.

Scorers -- St Kieran's: M Brennan 1-2; P Buggy 1-1; P Walsh 0-3; W Phelan (1f, 1 '65) 0-2; T Hanrahan, J Power (1f), C Buckley 0-1 each. Ardscoil Ris: J Fitzgibbon (2f, 1 sl) 1-3; B O'Connor 1-0; M Ryan, K Downes, A Breen, D Hannon (1f), M Moroney 0-1 each.

St Kieran's: M Donnelly; C O'Neill, R Lennon, S Phelan; A O'Dowd, W Phelan, D Brennan; J Gannon, C Buckley; J Power, B O'Connor, P Walsh; P Buggy, M Brennan, T Hanrahan. Subs: R Reid for O'Connor (53); C O'Shea for Hanrahan (58)

Ardscoil Ris: D Sheppard; M Carmody, E McCarthy, A Dempsey; C McInerney, D Hannon, M Moroney; S O'Brien, N Kennedy; M Ryan, S Dowling, B O'Connor; J Fitzgibbon, K Downes, A Breen. Subs: J Shanahan for Breen (44); C Keogh for Dowling (58)

Referee: J Ryan (Tipperary)

Banagher College 3-17

Causeway Comp 2-9

Stephen Quirke goal on 58 minutes paved the way for Banagher College to take a first All-Ireland Vocational Schools title since 1989 at Semple Stadium yesterday.

In a keenly contested encounter, the Offaly school were forced to withstand a strong Causeway comeback, as second-half goals from Daniel Collins and Padraig Boyle cut the gap to five points with seven minutes remaining.

Banagher had blazed a trail in the opening half and led by 1-10 to 0-5 at the interval thanks to an 11th-minute Trevor Moran goal. Man of the match Aidan Treacy was outstanding in defence for the eventual winners, who held their composure with Quirke's late goal the catalyst for victory.

Scorers -- Banagher College: T Moran (1-1f, 1 65) 1-4; C Kelly 1-3; S Quirke 1-1; S Dolan, A Treacy (2f), E Mannion 0-2 each; P Camon, J O'Connor, S Kenny 0-1 each. Causeway Comprehensive: S Dunne (4f) 0-5; P Boyle 1-1; B Brosnan (3f) 0-3; D Collins 1-0.

Banagher College: C Clancy; N Wynne, S Og Lyons, A Kelly; K Burke, A Treacy, S Gardiner; J O'Connor, P Camon; S Kenny, C Kelly, S Dolan; S Quirke, T Moran, E Mannion. Subs: R Wynne for C Kelly (53); P Looby for Mannion (57); L Dolan for O'Connor (60)

Causeway Comprehensive: N Leen; B Murphy, C McCarthy, D Fitzell; T Maunsell, B Brosnan, M O'Regan; T Barrett, M Delaney; D Collins, A Fealy, E O'Connor; S Dunne, P Boyle, L Fitzell. Subs: M O'Halloran for Murphy (11); R Heffernan for L Fitzell (ht); J Silles for Maunsell (40); T Casey for Fealy (56)

Referee: M Wadding (Waterford)

Clare 4-19

Westmeath 3-15

Clare maintained their unbeaten run in a high-scoring tie at Cusack Park in Ennis yesterday, and moved a step closer to the league final when they proved too strong for Westmeath.

Clare's Colin Ryan was the game's top scorer with 1-9 but Westmeath's Andrew Mitchell was only a point behind with 2-5.

Scorers -- Clare: C Ryan 1-9; Clancy 1-3; C O'Donovan, M Murphy 1-0 each; J Conlon 0-3; D McMahon 0-2; P Donnellan, D Barrett 0-1 each. Westmeath: A Mitchell 2-5; B Murtagh 0-5; P Greville 1-0; D Carthy 0-3; D McNicholas, P Dowdall 0-1 each.

Clare: D Tuohy; P Vaughan, C Dillon, G O'Grady; D O'Donovan, J McInerney, P Donnellan; S Collins, B Bugler; J Conlon, J Clancy, D O'Donovan; D McMahon, M Flaherty C Ryan. Subs: D Barrett for Flaherty; D Ryan for O'Grady; M Murphy for Bugler J Cusack for Collins; C Cooney for Vaughan.

Westmeath: B McLoughlin; C Jordan, A Price, P Greville; J Shaw, A Mitchell, D McCormack; E Prive, L Smith; J Clarke, D McNicholas, A Dowdall; C Curley, B Murtagh, D Carthy. Subs: P Dowda;l for A Dowdall

Referee: T Ryan (Tipperary).

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport